Skip to content

Haiti

July 17, 2012

Last summer, I was blessed to visit Nicaragua as part of a volunteer group that spent a week in Ciudad Sandino rebuilding, repairing and remodeling two preschools. It was truly an unforgettable experience and one that made me declare my intent to participate in (at least) one volunteer trip a year going forward.

In October, I’ll spend a week in Léogâne, Haiti, the epicenter of the January 12, 2010, earthquake that devastated much of the country. Eighty to 90 percent of the region’s buildings were destroyed, with an estimated death toll as high as 30,000 people. Nearly three years on, they need our help.

I’ll be blogging, tweeting and doing everything else I can to raise awareness and keep a conversation going in the months leading up to the trip. For now, can you help by recommending a way to brush up on my French before October? 

And for fun, here’s a look at Foundry’s last trip to Haiti:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Cron permalink
    July 17, 2012 8:49 am

    That’s great to hear you’re going to Haiti with VIM. I look forward to following your travels!

  2. July 17, 2012 12:12 pm

    That sounds like a really awesome experience and an incredible project to be a part of! My French is horrible but a friend of mine was raised bilingual and speaks fluently. If you’re interested, I could put you in touch with her if you wanted to practice conversationally with someone.

    • July 17, 2012 5:05 pm

      Thank you! I may take you up on that offer on some point this summer.

Leave a Reply

