Skip to content

Great Coffee Shop Hunt: Starbucks

April 17, 2012

Yes, you read that right: Starbucks.

Why highlight the Moby Dick of coffee shops in the middle of a series looking for fantastic local coffeehousese?

Because, honestly, I go to Starbucks a lot. Three or four afternoons a week, right around 3:00, I find myself in line at Starbucks, where DC’s A-team of baristas greets me with, ‘Hi baby, what’re you having?’ and later wishes me a ‘blessed day’ as I walk out the door.

For all its faults, Starbucks isn’t all bad. It’s convenient (right on the ground floor of my office building, how perfect), fast, consistent, friendly and an inexpensive treat (sure, a frappuccino can run you $5+ but my daily cafe au lait misto is only $2.80, with free organic soy milk and flavor shots thanks to my Starbucks card). It also tries to give back to the community.

If there’s a Starbucks on one side of the street and a mom & pop shop on the other, I’ll support the local coffeehouse instead. But in a pinch or for a quick mid-afternoon caffeine hit, you can find me unapologetically sipping Starbucks brew.

Starbucks: yea or nay?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 12:36 pm

    Yea for Starbucks – I cannot get enough of their double chocolate chip frap!

  2. September 29, 2012 3:58 pm

    Me too! I’m not a regular, but I have to give it to them for trying…

Trackbacks

  1. Kudos to Starbucks… | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

