Skip to content

In Print: Is the Titanic Groupon Cool or Creepy? Plus: A Podcast

March 14, 2012

What I’ve been reading lately:

– Planning a summer vacation? Have $12,500? Groupon’s latest getaway deal takes you to the site of the Titanic shipwreck. But that’s not all:

The buyer of the deal will also receive a DVD of the movie “Titanic” signed by a Missouri-based Leonardo DiCaprio impersonator with the improbable name of Frank Lloyd Roberts.

– This freakishly warm weather may be nice, but it also has some negative side effects (ravenous bears!).

– It’s not often a story in The Onion nearly brings you do tears: “Best Part Of Gay 12-Year-Old’s Day Half Hour Spent Eating Lunch Alone On Staircase.”

– The ethics of shopping:

But no matter how many opportunities the market offers to align our ethics with our shopping habits, the burden is still on us to resist the impulse to buy the cheapest, closest thing. Here at the top of the economic food chain, no one will hold us accountable but ourselves.

– A Civil War love story.

– How a serial killer stalked Houston in the 1970s without anyone even being suspicious. (Don’t read this before bed. Trust me.)

I like words.

I like words. I like fat buttery words, such as ooze, turpitude, glutinous, toady. I like solemn, angular, creaky words, such as straitlaced, cantankerous, pecunious, valedictory. I like spurious, black-is-white words, such as mortician, liquidate, tonsorial, demi-monde. I like suave “V” words, such as Svengali, svelte, bravura, verve. I like crunchy, brittle, crackly words, such as splinter, grapple, jostle, crusty. I like sullen, crabbed, scowling words, such as skulk, glower, scabby, churl. I like Oh-Heavens, my-gracious, land’s-sake words, such as tricksy, tucker, genteel, horrid. I like elegant, flowery words, such as estivate, peregrinate, elysium, halcyon. I like wormy, squirmy, mealy words, such as crawl, blubber, squeal, drip. I like sniggly, chuckling words, such as cowlick, gurgle, bubble and burp.

– What did the 1% study in college? (Not journalism — chances are 1 in 62 of a newspaper writer/editor being in the 1%.)

– Plus, a ‘Planet Money’ podcast: What the IRS can learn from Mormons. (Interesting!)

What have you read recently?

Leave a Reply

