Skip to content

Great Coffee Shop Hunt: Crumbs Bake Shop

March 6, 2012

New Yorkers love to rave about their superior bagels and pizza and coffee and cupcakes, so when NYC-based bakery Crumbs debuted in DC, I put off going. After all, we don’t exactly have a shortage of cupcake shops here in Washington.

But then a location opened near my office and on a chilly late winter afternoon, I needed a) a cup of hot coffee and b) a new-to-me coffee shop for the Great Coffee Shop Hunt. Okay, Crumbs, wow me!

The good: awesome customer service (including double-punching the frequent buyer card), massive cupcake samples, cheap cafe au lait (under $3.00, comparable to Starbucks), large drinks menu to go along with a massive bakery selection.

The bad: the coffee just isn’t very good.

My cafe au lait, made with hazelnut roast coffee, was bitter to the point of needing a little sugar, which I almost never add to coffee. It was hot and smelled awesome, but tasted just ‘meh.’

Now, I understand that most people aren’t going to Crumbs for the coffee. They’re going for this:

But if you’re going to offer a big coffee selection, at least make it good coffee.

As for those cupcakes, my sample (chocolate cupcake with vanilla frosting and rainbow sprinkles) was delicious but when I checked the nutrition information out of curiosity… well… I think that was my first and last Crumbs cupcake. Yikes.

Have you been to Crumbs? What’s their best cupcake flavor?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 8:15 am

    It’s equivalent to eating three slices of pizza?? How is that possible? I read somewhere that Georgetown cupcakes have about 250 calories.

  2. March 6, 2012 9:48 am

    Maybe I’m weird, but I really don’t like Crumbs cupcakes! I have the world’s biggest sweet tooth too! I feel like they just aren’t quality and much prefer Sprinkles, Baked & Wired, Hello Cupcake….etc. Now that you’ve given the coffee a thumbs down, I guess I won’t be going there for anything! Though I have to say, I stare at the beautiful cupcakes everytime I walk by. Works of art!

    • March 6, 2012 10:32 am

      I always stare at the huge, human-head-sized cupcake in the window.

Leave a Reply

