Skip to content

Great Coffee Shop Hunt: Praline Bakery

February 28, 2012

We’re in the suburbs this week, just over the DC line into Paris by way of Bethesda at the always-charming Praline Bakery & Bistro.

Founded and run by two former White House pastry chefs, Praline is a little taste of France in a Bethesda strip mall. Upstairs is a sit-down restaurant with a fantastic brunch, but downstairs is a cozy cafe serving coffee, pastries and afternoon classics like quiche.

It’s still winter for another month, so grab a table by the fire.

If you’re really hungry, order the quiche lorraine. It’s hot, flavorful and filling.

For my afternoon coffee fix, I went with a classic cafe au lait. On the side: French macarons, two flavors among a selection of nearly two dozen.

Un macaron aux framboises et un macaron au café, s’il vous plaît.

Tout est parfait!

A trip to France may not be in the cards this year but a trip to Praline — I can always fit that in, and so should you.

After all, everyone knows DC is crazy for cupcakes so if macarons aren’t your thing…

What language did you take in high school? Every year, I vow to continue studying French to work my way toward fluency (and after Nicaragua, I planned to pick up Spanish) but somehow I never make the time.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 11:17 am

    One of my girlfriends used to be a hostess in the restaurant at Praline! I never got a chance to go while she was there but she always talked about the tasty bakery treats 😀

    In high school I took Spanish… I remember a few words but only the basics like hello, a few foods, etc.

  2. February 28, 2012 2:10 pm

    This place looks wonderful. If you are craving a Quiche Lorrraine and are not at Praline, I just posted my recipe today. Very simple and very delicious. Enjoy!
    http://frenchtwistedwoman.com/2012/02/28/quiche-lorraine-cheese-and-bacon-custard-tart/

    • February 28, 2012 2:28 pm

      Thanks! Maybe I’ll try making my first homemade quiche.

  3. February 28, 2012 2:55 pm

    A. we have to go back, looks way too cute to pass up
    B. you OPENED your macaron??

  4. February 29, 2012 8:30 am

    I’ve never had a macaron. I think that needs to change.

    I took Spanish in high school.

Trackbacks

  1. Praline Bakery & Bistro » Review: Great Coffee Shop Hunt – Praline Bakery
  2. Staycation: Bastille Day « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

