Skip to content

Weekend Wrap-Up

February 20, 2012

I love long weekends and the first two days of this one were packed with delicious food and lots of fun.

Starting with ice skating at the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden Ice Rink, a Washington winter tradition…

(look Mom and Dad, all that money you spent on skating lessons paid off! I can skate in a circle!)

where we burned off the calories consumed during a dinner feast at Hill Country Barbecue and Market, a meat-lover’s paradise.

Clearly I’ve eased up on my vegetarianism.

… but after that (amazing) meal, I’m ready for a meat detox.

Sunday opened with a vanilla latte and chocolate chip biscotti at possibly my new favorite coffee shop — more on that tomorrow.

And closed at one of my favorite places in the neighborhood the entire city: The Mansion on O Street. Throughout the year, the Mansion hosts intimate concerts by a range of artists, some well-known, others up-and-coming. With only 40-50 people in the audience, last night’s show by The Mastersons was literally like sitting in someone’s (incredibly ornate) living room.

Can you imagine seeing Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens), Emmylou Harris, Michael Jackson or Lenny Kravitz somewhere like that?They’ve all played the Mansion.

Allie and I had fun exploring the Mansion before the show, where you never know what or who you’re going to find.

Do you have a three-day weekend? Today’s extra-special third day off includes a lunch date at The Well-Dressed Burrito and a completely lazy afternoon with nothing but coffee and my book club’s latest pick.

(Thanks for being patient while I took a couple of weeks off.)
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 8:34 am

    I do not have a 3-day weekend. Boo. At least I don’t think I do. It’d be nice if I got to work and no one was there, but I don’t see that happening.

  2. February 20, 2012 4:57 pm

    Ooh, that latte looks so good!! Glad you had a lovely weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

