Skip to content

Guest Post: Aloha From Hawaii!

January 31, 2012

My friend Erin was recently in Hawaii and I twisted her arm she kindly volunteered to write a guest post — with plenty of photos guaranteed to make us northerners jealous in January. Enjoy!

Since this was my 6th time (!) in Hawaii and 5th time to the island of Kauai, I took the opportunity to spend most of this short, week-long vacay relaxing.  That means instead of hiking and jumping off cliffs (the itinerary of my previous trips to the island), I spent a lot of time lying on the beach with a good book.

One could argue that it seems a bit silly to visit one place so often.  I wouldn’t disagree.  I struggle at times when making travel plans because there are so many places in the world I want to visit!  Luckily, I’ve found that each visit to Hawaii has provided its own unique adventures…
During this visit, it was prime whale-watching season, and as a marine life enthusiast, it was a real treat for me!  I was even lucky enough to catch a whale breach off the coast during one of my morning runs (talk about a great way to start your day).  With my appetite whet for more, I convinced my family to take advantage of the opportunity and book a trip to see the whales in their natural habitat. We hopped on a catamaran chartered by Kauai Sea Tours for a sunset cruise of the Na Pali coast.  Humpback whales visit Hawaiian shores between late December and early March.   During our sunset tour, we saw tons of activity!
We saw whales spouting, fins waving hello, and tails flapping.  Some spinner dolphins also ended up in our path, and they playfully jumped out of the ocean with their acrobatic namesake twists.  Initially I tried to capture the whales in action with my Panasonic travel companion.  Eventually I gave in to the fact that even if I DID manage to capture a glimpse of the whales in a photo, it would never be as perfect as experiencing them in the moment.  I put down my camera and can happily scratch whale watching off my bucket list. So instead of whale breaching photos, I’ll leave you with the sunset view of the Na Pali coast from Ke’e Beach (a great place to watch the sun set behind the cliffs).
3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 9:21 am

    Isn’t it lovely seeing whales breaching.. I love your sunset photos as well.. such a pretty sight first thing this morning:)

  2. January 31, 2012 9:24 am

    a fellow marine life enthusiast! (i almost died of pride)

  3. January 31, 2012 9:44 pm

    I’m dying of longing and wanderlust!!! I have always, always wanted to visit Hawaii. I don’t know when that wish will be fulfilled, but in the meantime I’ll just stew in envy! 😉

Leave a Reply

