Skip to content

The Greatest Winter Meal

December 19, 2011

Want to win a fair-trade coffee set? Enter here.

For a long time, I was a fan of neither grilled cheese nor tomato soup.

A lot can change.

I like my grilled cheese on homemade bread and my tomato soup from a box, not a can. I like fruit on the side because what’s a savory meal without a little sweetness?

This weekend, I asked on Twitter: Grilled cheese and tomato soup: great winter meal or greatest winter meal?

So tell me, on this chilly Monday: What’s the greatest winter meal?  (Feel free to leave links to recipes if you have some to recommend!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 8:29 am

    I am all about a bowl (or two!) of chicken soup … though, really, that’s delicious any time of the year!

    • December 19, 2011 5:49 pm

      Chicken soup always makes me think of being sick… maybe that’s why it’s so comforting?

  2. December 19, 2011 10:35 am

    I also did not like tomato soup or grilled cheese growing up. Now I love it!! especially together on a cold day like today.

    • December 19, 2011 5:48 pm

      Must be an acquired taste for some people (like both of us).

  3. December 19, 2011 10:40 am

    When I saw your Tweet on Saturday after my long run, I REALLY wanted grilled cheese and tomato soup. I still haven’t had it, but I cannot wait to make some ASAP when I get home this weekend (I figured I wouldn’t make it through a full loaf of bread before leaving for Christmas). Other than grilled cheese, I’d have to say chili is one of the best winter meals. So hearty, warming, and filling. But you’re right…there’s nothing like a good grilled cheese and tomato soup. (BTW if you haven’t tried the grilled cheese on the lunch menu at Jaleo, you really need to. It comes with an amazing aioli and is seriously sooooo good.)

    • December 19, 2011 5:48 pm

      Ooh, I’ve only ordered tapas at Jaleo but I bet they have great grilled cheese. Will have to check out! Thanks.

  4. December 19, 2011 5:33 pm

    im going to have to go with beans. maybe black bean soup for a winter twist.

    • December 19, 2011 5:48 pm

      Black bean soup is a winner, especially if it’s a little spicy.

  5. davexrobb permalink
    December 29, 2011 11:39 pm

    in my book, there is nothing better than grilled cheese and tomato soup…my family’s traditional Xmas meal, I’ve always loved it. I add applesauce to the sandwich and oysterettes to the soup.

Leave a Reply

