Skip to content

Giveaway: Fair Trade Coffee Set

December 15, 2011

This was the year I learned the love service. This was the year I realized that it really is better to give than to receive. This was the year I walked the walk and didn’t just talk the talk.

My two fondest, most vivid memories from 2011 are Nicaragua and St. Jude, trips where the blessings and joy I received were infinitely more than I expected. Because when you give to others, you’re really giving to yourself, too.

In that spirit, I’d like to give you something that gives to others, too. A little pay it forward, if you will.

When World Vision emailed to see whether I wanted to host a giveaway for the holidays, I said ‘yes’ immediately. World Vision missions benefit people both on the other side of the world and right here in the U.S. Every year, they put out a catalog filled with gifts for those both near — jewelry, crafts, fair trade coffee — and far — livestock, fishing kits, small business loans.

Gifts in the catalog range from a $16 Family Food Kit that feeds an American family for a day, to a $150 beehive, to one of its most popular gift items, a $75 goat that provides milk for entire villages.

Some of the tangible items financially help others but also make great Christmas presents for loved ones at home. Stunning turquoise jewelry is made by and for women in Thailand, while Kenyan Christmas ornaments are created from recycled materials.

This holiday season, I’m giving away one fair trade coffee set that includes a blend of Ethiopian, Sumatran and Costa Rican beans along with a handmade African gift bag and hand-carved coffee scoop; each coffee set World Vision benefits orphans of the Kamba tribe.*

How do you enter?

Simply tell me: What is the best Christmas present you ever got? 

For a bonus entry, leave a comment with your favorite way to volunteer or serve others (or a way you want to serve others).

That’s it!

The giveaway ends Tuesday, December 20 at 10:00pm. I will announce the winner the following day and email him/her. Sorry, this giveaway is open only to U.S. residents.

And to fully get into the spirit, check out World Vision’s True Spirit of Christmas project.

*World Vision provided the prize for this giveaway; opinions are my own.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 9:12 am

    My favorite Hannukah gift was my bike. I use it every day to get to/from work so I get so much use out of it!

  2. December 15, 2011 9:12 am

    My favorite way to give back is by volunteering through a program at a local high school. It’s oftentimes the highlight of me week 🙂

  3. Deborah permalink
    December 15, 2011 10:34 am

    The best Christmas gift I’ve ever received was a pair of roller skates when I was 8 years old. I wore those things out!

  4. Deborah permalink
    December 15, 2011 10:37 am

    My favorite way to give back is by volunteering on Tuesdays at Miriam’s Kitchen, a homeless shelter in DC. It is truly a blessing!

  5. Olivia permalink
    December 16, 2011 5:08 pm

    The best present I ever received was my Kindle – I am a voracious reader and I travel a lot, and despite my never-ending love for physical books, I found it to be a great gadget.

  6. Olivia permalink
    December 16, 2011 5:10 pm

    My favorite way to give back is by volunteering for a civil liberties union with translations and research.

  7. December 16, 2011 11:12 pm

    The best gift I ever got was a pastel-colored stereo about 25 years ago that I wanted so badly!

  8. December 16, 2011 11:13 pm

    I enjoy volunteering at the library.

  9. emgusk permalink
    December 19, 2011 12:17 pm

    The best gift I ever got for Hanukkah was my Cabbage Patch Kid, Noreen Trista. She is the best.

  10. emgusk permalink
    December 19, 2011 12:18 pm

    Since time is spare, I really like to give money to donorschoose.org because I can pick out a classroom that really needs help. In January, I’ll be going on a service trip, so I’m sure that’ll soon become my favorite way to give back!

  11. Lora C permalink
    December 20, 2011 12:30 pm

    The best Christmas gift I ever got were the handprints my children made me, they were 5 & 7 at the time.

  12. Lora C permalink
    December 20, 2011 12:36 pm

    I donate household & personal care items to local giving organizations during the year, and most years we buy presents for foster children.

  13. Elisabeth permalink
    December 20, 2011 6:07 pm

    My favorite gift I’ve received so far has to be my iPod!

  14. Elisabeth permalink
    December 20, 2011 6:08 pm

    I like to donate toys to Toys for Tots!

  15. Lauren permalink
    November 9, 2012 7:11 am

    The best material Christmas gift I got was a Keurig coffee maker (last year) or UGG boots. But the best immaterial gift was a donation to a camp that I love, Camp Barnabas, a camp that serves kids and young adults with disabilities.

  16. Lauren permalink
    November 9, 2012 7:11 am

    My favorite way to serve others is to be an RN for a week at Camp Barnabas (http://www.campbarnabas.org). Also, hoping to get a similar camp going in Indiana.

Trackbacks

  1. Staycation: Lincoln’s Cottage « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. The Greatest Winter Meal « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. What Are the Most Popular Christmas Songs? « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

