Skip to content

The Best Part of Waking Up (Early)

December 12, 2011

… isn’t Folgers in my cup.

I love being a naturally early riser on weekends. While friends brag of being able to sleep in until 11 or noon, I’m up at 7 or 7:30. Still in pajamas, but up. Having this extra time in the morning means a me time.

The best part of waking up (early)?

Breakfast. Coffee. The Washington Post.

During the week, mornings are rushed. I still get up a little earlier than necessary to have time for oatmeal, coffee and a little news-reading, but Sunday mornings usually include a couple of hours of total peace and quiet — before I realize I’m running late for church and fly into a frenzy.

Yesterday, I put on a chilled-out jazz Christmas Pandora station, made cinnamon-flax-pomegranate French toast and World Market pecan pie coffee, and opened the paper to my favorite section: Travel, with a cover story highlighting the upcoming London Olympics.

Those two hours of relaxation mentally prepared me to face the pre-Christmas mall madness where I finished my Christmas shopping. Those two hours let me turn off technology and concentrate just on the physical newspaper. Those two hours allowed me to drink an entire French press of coffee.

And, yes, those two hours made me late for church. You live, you (probably don’t) learn. At least I still made it in time for the children’s Christmas pageant!

What time do you wake up on weekends? What’s your weekend morning routine?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 8:51 am

    How insane were the malls? I was hoping to finish all my holiday shopping last week, but got sidelined with bronchitis. Keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll be well enough to go later this week instead … except now the stores must be even crazier.

    Also – love that you still read the physical newspaper. I do, too, and it’s honestly an entirely different experience from keeping up with current events via online papers and news stations.

    • December 12, 2011 12:21 pm

      I only read the physical newspaper on weekends — no time during the week. But yes, love the routine.

      Sorry you’re sick. Hope you’re feeling better today.

  2. December 12, 2011 9:56 am

    Your toast looks delish!

  3. December 12, 2011 12:20 pm

    I like to set a good twenty minutes out in the morning for coffee and blog reading. If I still lived in DC that might be replaced by Post reading.

    • December 12, 2011 12:22 pm

      The Post is saved for Saturdays and Sundays — during the week, it’s just a quick scan of headlines and blogs before heading into work.

Leave a Reply

