Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

December 1, 2011

This is a very Thankful Thursday because it’s my mom‘s birthday! As I’ve grown older, I’ve begun to appreciate my mom more, argue with her less and realize that we have much more in common than I could have imagined has a kid. After all, which one of us likes to wake up early, read the Washington Post, visit a museum (listening to NPR on the drive), eat brunch, stop by the farmer’s market, then come home for an HGTV House Hunters International marathon?

Both of us, naturally.

Today is also December 1, which marks the official kick-off to the holiday season. All of the Christmas boxes are out of the basement; now it’s just time to start decorating. DC is a beautiful city during the holidays, with twinkling lights everywhere and festive decorations on each corner. The National Christmas Tree lighting is tonight and wandering through all of the state trees is a favorite December activity.

What else am I thankful for this week?

  • A packed December calendar — so many holiday parties and get-togethers remind me that I’m lucky to have friends and family living nearby
  • Warm coats
  • Christmas candles
  • Sweater tights
  • Gingerbread cookies and hot chocolate
  • A friend joining my company soon!
  • Basil Thyme, my new favorite DC food truck (butternut squash lasagna and banana-cream cannoli!)

What are you thankful for this week?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 8:19 am

    Happy Birthday to your mom!!

    This week, I’m thankful for friends – near and far – who are always there to lend an ear and offer support. It’s such a blessing 🙂

  2. Life's a Bowl permalink
    December 1, 2011 9:01 am

    I am thankful that my Dear’s surgery went well and he is having a smooth recovery 🙂

  3. emgusk permalink
    December 1, 2011 9:40 am

    Basil Thyme is effing delicious. Good call.

Leave a Reply

