Skip to content

Thanksgiving 2011

November 25, 2011

Yesterday we laid a beautiful table…

and sat down to a beautiful meal.

We ate huge plates of food for dinner…

but made sure to save plenty of room for dessert.

Which dessert do you think I chose?

Toasted coconut cake with walnuts and cranberries?

Chocolate-pecan pie? Or blueberry-apple pie?

If you guessed all three, you’re right. Of course.

My favorite Thanksgiving tradition — more than the food and the decorations and the Macy’s Parade — is simply saying what we’re thankful for. And like many Americans, we have a lot to be thankful for. Just reading world news should make you realize that. But I feel truly blessed to have amazing family and friends (most of whom live nearby), my health (especially on my mind after visiting St. Jude Children’s Hospital last week), a great job at a fantastic company, a safe home in a nice neighborhood, and an endless number of opportunities just there for the taking.

I hope you all had a happy, safe, delicious, fun and filling Thanksgiving. I’m always thankful that you read my blog.

What were you thankful for in 2011?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2011 9:06 am

    Your Thanksgiving sounds like it was just lovely… and, yes, we have so much to be grateful for. I forgot about Macy’s parade!!! How could I???

  2. November 25, 2011 6:01 pm

    So glad you had a fantastic holiday! 🙂

  3. November 26, 2011 11:58 am

    your photos look beautiful!

  4. Life's a Bowl permalink
    November 28, 2011 10:22 am

    Beautiful table and display! Love the color of the roses… This year I’m thankful for my friends and family who have all helped me get through some tough times, as well as celebrate the great times ❤

  5. November 28, 2011 11:58 am

    Beautiful!

    I had a quick question for you as a travel blogger – I’m planning a study abroad trip for my students to Brazil, and wondered if you had been there or could recommend a blogger who had! Thanks – love to get an original viewpoint on the country for my students. 😉

  6. November 29, 2011 5:45 pm

    In 2011, I am thankful for fighting to the bitter end in terms of knowing I deserved a better job. I am thankful that I have recognized I need to step up my game in terms of improving my physical and mental well-being. I am thankful to be on good terms with all of my family, and that I have several close friends in various cities around the world. I am thankful to have an understanding, caring and loving boyfriend who actually relates to my zany and weird self. I am thankful for good food and creating great memories for the rest of the holiday season.

    Yes Erin, I still read this blog. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Family Thanksgiving Dance | Not the Family Business!

Leave a Reply

