Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

October 27, 2011

The main thing I’m thankful for today is that my mom just got a new job! She was out of work for two years before going back to the same company as a contractor, and now the (same) company is hiring her again as a full-time employee. A round-about way to continue working at the same places she’s worked for more than a decade but, hey, a job’s a job, and I’m really happy for her.

She had planned on taking a long trip — for which I’d join her part of the time —  before starting any new gig so it looks like there may be some travel on the horizon sooner rather than later.

Today is already off to a great start. Besides the above happy news, I was thankful to kick off the morning with one of my favorite fall breakfast: banana oatmeal topped with vegan pumpkin bread. Tastes just as good as ‘regular’ pumpkin bread without any eggs or butter. Pumpkin bread tip: make it a day before you want to eat/serve it. The leftovers taste even better than fresh out of the oven.

Other things I’m thankful for this week:

  • So. Many. Cute. Coffee shops. Between Big Bear Cafe last week, Jacob’s Coffeehouse yesterday and the adorable (and philanthropic!) place lined up for next week, I’m so thankful to be surrounded by relaxing places to chat and warm up now that it’s getting cold.
  • Pumpkins: home decor and delicious to eat.
  • ’90s Halloween costumes. Babies in Halloween costumes. Dogs in Halloween costumes.
  • Trader Joe’s boxed soup.
  • Boots.
  • ‘Fresh Air’ podcasts.
  • Antique home decor. Whenever people ask, ‘Where did you get that?’ about something in my apartment, the answer is invariably, ‘From my grandmother.’ As they downsized, both sets of grandparents have contributed everything from kitchen utensils and pots to art and blankets. My latest — and favorite? This antique lamp that was in my grandmother’s house when she was a kid; once an oil lamp, it’s been converted to electric.


If you had a month off and money was no issue, where would you go? What would you do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 10:55 am

    To answer your question, I’d do a full-scale tour of Europe to all the places I haven’t seen. Visit Florence, Tuscany, Berlin, Prague, Barcelona, Paris, etc. Then maybe hit up St. Petersburg and/or Moscow.

    I was actually going to comment on that lamp the other day. ❤ your apartment.

  2. October 27, 2011 7:21 pm

    Such good news about your mom. Congratulations to her! 🙂

    Love that lamp. Isn’t it special to have treasured keepsakes from our grandparents? I appreciate that more than ever now.

    And to answer your question – I’d head back down south to Atlanta and Nashville. ADORE it there!!

Leave a Reply

