Skip to content

Great Coffee Shop Hunt: Chloe’s Coffee

October 5, 2011

We’re leaving the city in today’s edition of the Great Coffee Shop Hunt and heading for the suburbs.

chloescoffee.net/

Chloe’s Coffee was a much-needed addition to the Kentlands in Gaithersburg, Md. The other neighborhood coffee options are a plethora of chain choices: Starbucks and Panera and Cosi (oh my!).

So a cute independent coffee shop = awesome. One that thousands of neighborhood residents can walk to = even better.

There actually used to be a Chloe but the coffee shop recently came under new management who are keeping the name the same. I was happy to see the owner working as barista both times I stopped into Chloe’s recently. She seemed to really care whether her customers were having a good experience and enjoying their coffee.

Seeing a peanut butter flavor shot on the menu? Be still my heart.

Unfortunately they were out of peanut butter — clearly that’s the flavor to try! — so I have a very valid reason to go back it the future. Instead I embraced the chilly weather and went for a seasonal shot of gingerbread syrup in my latte. Bonus points for asking if I wanted cinnamon or nutmeg sprinkled on top. Yes, of course!

The cafe has live music several nights a week and a pretty extensive food menu too — lots of yummy-sounding sandwiches, including grilled cheese for $2.50 which is a steal, really. I could see myself going back for a grilled cheese and tomato soup, and hunkering down with a book in one of the uber-comfy leather chairs by a window. Oh yea, that sounds nice.

For a great coffee shop in the ‘burbs, Chloe’s Coffee has all the right ingredients.

Have you ever seen or tried a peanut butter flavor shot in coffee? I’m so intrigued now and can’t wait to try it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 8:12 pm

    Wow. PB coffee?! How amazing!! I’ve tried banana, s’mores and sweet potato for “unusual” ones, but PB takes the cake.
    I’m obsessed with coffeeshops, so thank you for sharing this. Too bad PB option wasn’t available. I can imagine that it runs out often!

  2. October 6, 2011 1:42 am

    That shop looks adorable. Grilled cheese, tomato soup, and a good book?? Yes, please. No, I’ve never tried peanut butter flavor in my coffee although I’m not opposed. 😉

  3. Vishal permalink
    December 6, 2011 12:12 am

    Over the past two months I have been visiting Chloe’s Coffee on a weekly basis. There new management is excellent; they actually care if the customer walks out with a smile. Customer Service is universally accepted as the most important aspect in maintaining customer loyalty. Chloe has seemed to nailed this dead on and I am hooked. There greatest product is undeniably the Chai Latte. It is nothing like what I have tasted before. The taste of the Chai Latte is indescribable, it always touches the right taste buds and leaves a smile on my face through the rest of my day.

Trackbacks

  1. Great Coffee Shop Hunt: Bean Counter « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

