Skip to content

Darlington House Brunch: A Classic

September 27, 2011

One of the best things about friends visiting from out of town is showing off your favorite spots. This weekend, it was my friend Joyce — a Canadian who lives in Boston, whom I met while living in Korea.

From Seoul (2008)

to Washington, DC (2011)

… my how the years have flown!

I talked up DC all the time when we lived in Korea, and Joyce actually visited once when I was still living in Seoul. This was my first chance to show off my favorite city and a real Dupont Circle brunch was definitely on the weekend agenda. We headed to Darlington House (where I’ve been a few times and blogged about on Easter).

I’ve previously only sat inside but wow, outside on the patio is the place to be on a nice day. It’s a perfect vantage point for people-watching at the farmer’s market.

I started with a so-so cappuccino

before indulging in my favorite menu item: the farmer’s market omelet, packed with seasonal, local veggies like asparagus, mushrooms, onions and peppers. Yum.

Can’t brunch be every day?

I was so excited to see Joyce this weekend. The best thing about traveling is meeting new people, but that’s also the hardest thing because you invariably leave each other and may not reunite for years, if ever. Still, it’s amazing to have friends all around the world and realize that is really is a small world after all.

The next Korea reunion? May 2012 for a Scotland-Canada wedding of two former coworkers near Toronto. Love it!

Do most of your friends live nearby or far away? I’m lucky that most of my best friends are close but I have buddies scattered from Canada to England to Korea and Australia.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 10:41 am

    I’m the same way, friends all over the place. They seem to have consolidated into either DC or NY/NJ area. One thing that’s always tough is that my DC friends keep moving around. In the past year, we’ve had friends move to Oregon, Arizona, Boston, and Connecticut. It’s doubly tough because with a new baby it’s a lot harder to travel to see them – and it’s easier to be friends with other moms. I don’t want to lose touch with my single friends and friends without kids, but it’s a lot tougher than it seems! I think as a single gal I thought my married/mom friends were too busy for me. Now that I’m on the other side, I am too busy but I still want to be in their lives. It’s a definite balancing act! Maybe a brunch soon is in order… 😉

    • September 27, 2011 3:06 pm

      It’s kind of nice to have friends to visit everywhere — but yes, must be a LOT harder to coordinate with a baby in tow!

  2. September 27, 2011 12:03 pm

    I ride my bike past that place every day on my way to work, but I’ve never eaten there. It looks delicious! I might have to change that…I just always end up at Kramerbooks so I will try to divert my path sometime in the future and give Darlington a shot!

    • September 27, 2011 3:07 pm

      Kramerbooks is definitely #1 for breakfast, lunch and dinner but Darlington House has a great brunch. Heard mixed things about dinner.

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

