Skip to content

Cheesetique: A Cheese Boutique

September 6, 2011

For someone who isn’t a big cheese eater, I loved Cheesetique.

It doesn’t hurt that this Del Ray cheese shop, winery and cafe is absolutely adorable, from the casual outdoor seating

to the incredible cheese selection from around the country and the world

to the fun shop items.

While I’d never eat a piece of cheese for a snack and never crave cheese on a sandwich or salad, I’ve learned to like some varieties over the years. Yes, there was a while there when ‘pizza cheese’ and the orange ‘cheese’ on macaroni were the only kinds I’d eat.

Thankfully, Cheesetique has something for everyone (including non-cheese menu items)/

The extensive menu includes wine flights and cheese + meat plates, plus recommends wine pairings for each menu item. I stuck to a glass of unpictured Chardonnay and got down to the business of ordering. Happily, a friend was open to sharing plates and we split two delicious entrees. Sharing is definitely the way to go in new restaurants — I hate limiting myself to one menu item!

First: chevre and spinach grilled cheese (Garlicky Goat cheese topped with sauteed spinach. Fresh and light!).


Generally I’m not a huge fan of goat cheese but this was the perfect pairing, especially with buttery, slightly-crisp yet still chewy bread.

Paired with that was the rustic flatbread (Artichoke pesto, portobello mushrooms, Mozzarella and roasted tomatoes).


This was also awesome and would be so easy to recreate at home with some pizza dough, pesto and seasonal veggies. It would be just as good without cheese and easy to veganize or customize.

Like cheese or loathe it, you can definitely find something delicious to eat at Cheesetique.  Best of all, it’s right across the street from Obama favorite The Dairy Godmother so you can pop over for a frozen custard after dinner.

Mmm… cinnamon oat cookie.

What’s your favorite kind of cheese? The only cheese I ever keep in the house is Laughing Cow wedges. Love, love, love it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 8:19 am

    Ooh I love goat cheese! That sandwich looked great! I will have to try this place!

  2. September 6, 2011 8:30 am

    I love that place. Go there constantly. Have you had their grown up grilled cheese? It’s gooey and messy, but so incredibly worth it.

    • September 6, 2011 11:35 am

      No but it sounded so good. I wish they had a grilled cheese sampler platter! 😉

  3. September 6, 2011 9:59 am

    OMG I want to go to there! I go to DC every now and then to visit friends but they are mostly in MD. However, I may need to make a trip down to Alexandria to go here next time. Goat cheese is by far my favorite!

    • September 6, 2011 11:35 am

      This is actually in Virginia, a neighborhood called Del Ray in Alexandria. Easy to drive to along the GW Parkway.

  4. September 6, 2011 11:00 am

    They’re opening one in Shirlington and I’m SOOOOO excited!

  5. September 6, 2011 8:42 pm

    I read about Cheesetique and Dairy Godmother when I was in DC but didn’t get there=( I think I might make it a must for my next trip!

  6. September 8, 2011 1:46 pm

    I love this place!!! One of my favorites! Oh and stopping at Dairy Godmother is a must!

  7. Life's a Bowl permalink
    September 10, 2011 8:59 am

    Love LC too! My inner child really likes light sting cheese [oh so classy, I know] and TJ’s Spreadable Goat cheese [with a little jelly] 🙂

  8. September 14, 2011 1:34 pm

    I just read about this place in the Washingtonian last night! I am a BIG cheese lover (and sometimes all I want for dinner is cheese, baguette, and wine), so I definitely want to give this place a try!

Leave a Reply

