Skip to content

How to Make Pancakes in the Microwave

August 29, 2011

Sometimes you just don’t want to dirty any more dishes. Sometimes the stovetop won’t ignite. Sometimes you’re just feeling lazy and want breakfast on the table in fewer than two minutes.

Done and done.

This weekend, all I wanted for breakfast was a big, beautiful pancake. Cereal, oatmeal, eggs — nothing else sounded appetizing. But — horror! — the stove wasn’t working. What’s a pancake-craving girl to do?

natalieedee.com

Enter our friend, Mr. Microwave.

So how do you make pancakes in the microwave? It’s as easy as 1-2-3:

  1. Make pancake batter per usual, whether from scratch or a mix (I used Safeway’s Eating Right whole wheat pancake mix, with fresh blueberries and strawberries mixed into the batter).
  2. Grease a plate with butter or cooking spray and pour the batter directly onto the plate.
  3. Microwave on high for 1 minute and 30 seconds, or until pancake is completely cooked through. No need to flip!

I guess I should add step 4 here: top with fruit/maple syrup/ice cream and eat the pancake.

It doesn’t get much easier than that, does it? A microwaved pancake has a cake-ier consistency than those made on the stovetop but tastes just as good and is finished in less time — plus, less clean up, which is always a bonus when you are your own dishwasher.

Could you live without a microwave? I used to not have one and got used to reheating food on the stove, but a microwave definitely adds convenience.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    August 29, 2011 8:22 am

    I’m currently teaching in Seoul and my only kitchen appliance is a hot plate – living without a microwave is a bit inconvenient at times but I would much rather an oven! I miss baking so much!

    • August 29, 2011 10:05 am

      I understand that! I ended up buying a toaster oven while in Seoul because I missed baking, plus it made reheating easier. At least you can make pancakes on the hot plate… πŸ˜‰

  2. August 29, 2011 8:56 am

    What?! I can’t even wrap my mind around this. Thats not a real PANcake!

  3. August 29, 2011 10:13 am

    Love this idea! I am hoping it will work with vegan batter!

    • August 29, 2011 10:33 am

      I used a flax egg instead of a real egg and it turned out fine!

  4. August 29, 2011 1:31 pm

    I’ve definitely cooked eggs in the microwave before, but I had no clue you could also make pancakes that way!! That’s awesome!!! I’m definitely going to be trying this out…I’ve been craving some chocolate chip pancakes lately!

    • August 29, 2011 3:08 pm

      What type of eggs have you microwaved? I’ve seen scrambled but is there any way for over-easy?

      • August 29, 2011 5:06 pm

        I’ve only done scrambled but I have heard you can do over-easy, too. If you have a microwave-safe cup, you can crack an egg into it and wrap the cup in microwave-safe plastic wrap. Microwave for like 40 seconds, and that should do it. I don’t know if it works, but it’d be really awesome if it did!

  5. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas permalink
    August 29, 2011 1:42 pm

    Whoa this is brilliant!
    And Natalie Dee is the best. She’s my favorite addition to blog posts πŸ™‚

  6. Life's a Bowl permalink
    August 30, 2011 7:00 pm

    Oh em gee, no way- that’s so cool! I’ve seen a lot of people make different types of “protein cakes” in the microwave that look more souffle like but never a flat looking pancake- I gotta try it!

  7. June 1, 2012 11:07 am

    I just did this for breakfast at work, and the pancakes were delicious! They were also more fluffy&cake-ier like you said they’d be! πŸ˜€ YUM!

  8. stargirl permalink
    October 20, 2012 9:15 am

    i gave this to my bff cause her dad wont let her use the stove! she loves it like crazy!!
    ITS SOO BIG!!!

  9. October 24, 2012 1:47 pm

    I just made one and it came out slightly rubbery but still good!

  10. Dakota permalink
    January 3, 2013 8:57 am

    Yeah, I’m just about to go and try this with leftover batter from yesterday.

  11. Dakota permalink
    January 3, 2013 9:12 am

    Ok yes, this was perfect. Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

