Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

August 18, 2011

The Healthy Living Summit is this weekend! Last night’s DC blogger happy hour was a precursor to an amazing weekend — I’m looking forward to making new friends, networking with fellow bloggers and (most importantly) having fun. If you’re coming to the Summit in Philly this weekend, be sure to come over and say ‘hi!’

I’m thankful to be able to attend HLS as a speaker — if you’re attending, please attend my presentation with Victoria about maintaining healthy habits while traveling. We’re Saturday’s last session, 3:30-4:10, and want to share tips about having a fun and a productive trip without losing your mind or falling into bad habits. People always tell me I look just like my Twitter photo so I should be easy to find. 😉

Last week, I dropped my iPhone and the screen shattered. At first, I was upset. But… the phone still works. I need to find the time to take it into the Apple store and see what the options are but it’s no use crying over a cracked iPhone screen. There are worse things in the world and I should be thankful just to have an iPhone (or a cell phone, for that matter), even if it’s no longer ‘perfect.’

Sometimes, you have to take the little things into account. Like my breadmaker. Guys, I’m obsessed and already baking loaves for friends and family just for the satisfaction of turning flour+salt+water+yeast into crusty, chewy bread. After numerous failed attempts at baking bread ‘the old-fashioned way’ (aka the way people have done it for thousands of years), I’m thankful that this simple machine does the work for me but still churns out delicious, wholesome bread.

What else am I thankful for this week?

  • humidity-free days
  • this cute new dress I wore yesterday
  • fun blogging opportunities
  • walking to work on cool-ish mornings
  • maintaining my goal of FroZenYo only once a week
  • apples and pears creeping into CSA
  • having more vacation days than I thought — now to find somewhere to go and someone to travel with

I’m going to a French-themed dinner tonight and bringing a plum-based dessert. Suggestions on what to make?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew S. permalink
    August 18, 2011 9:34 am

    My dad dropped his iPhone out of his shirt pocket (I’ve warned him about the perils of shirt pockets, but to no avail) and shattered the screen, and Apple just gave him a new one. I’ve actually had nightmares about bad things happening to my iPhone (in the worst one, I went swimming with it in my pocket. Eek).

    • August 18, 2011 10:44 am

      Yea, I’ve heard both: stories of people just getting new phones AND people being charged $150 for a fixed screen. Fingers crossed for the former!

  2. August 18, 2011 9:36 am

    Know what I’m thankful for this week? Getting to see you tomorrow! Yay! 🙂

    • August 18, 2011 10:44 am

      Definitely looking forward to that! 6 years later… 🙂

  3. August 18, 2011 10:18 am

    Lovedlovedloved meeting you, and can’t wait to hear you speak at HLS. Philly, here we come!

  4. August 18, 2011 2:33 pm

    Erin I love your blog!! I just found out you are a DC blogger as well and loved the pictures from the meet-up, I’m from the area too! 🙂 Have fun this weekend at the Summit! xoxo

    • August 18, 2011 3:54 pm

      Always great to meet other area bloggers! We need to schedule more regular meet-ups because there’s a great blogging community here in DC. Hope to see you soon.

  5. August 28, 2011 10:59 am

    Once a week to FrozenYo??? I wish I could do that! It’s just too darn good! I’m really sad that the one by Metro Center doesn’t have blueberry and peach still…that was my favorite combo with raspberries on top!!! I’m anxiously waiting for my next paycheck so I can go ASAP!!!

Leave a Reply

