Skip to content

The Great Coffee Shop Hunt

August 10, 2011

I know that you, like me, are always on the hunt for a great coffee shop.

Peregrine Espresso, 14th Street

It’s about more than just a good cup of coffee.

Darlington House, Dupont Circle

A good — no, a great coffee shop is all about ambiance. Comfortable chairs for reading, sturdy tables (and free Wi-Fi) for working, pleasant but not overwhelming background music.

Saxby's Coffee, Georgetown

And having something good to eat doesn’t hurt, either.

Think Coffee, Lower East Side, New York

Since I love a good coffee shop, join me every Wednesday as I check out new spots to get a caffeine fix. And if you don’t live in DC, don’t worry — I plan to visit places outside the city, too. (Hello Philadelphia for next weekend’s Healthy Living Summit!)

I have a list of places to visit already but feel free to leave suggestions of your favorite coffeehouses. They don’t need to be fancy, they don’t need to be well-known (in fact, preferably not) and they don’t need to be hidden hipster paradises. Hey, there’s nothing wrong with a little Caribou Coffee now and then.

Caribou Coffee, Downtown

What’s your favorite coffee shop? Do you prefer chains (for consistency and convenience) or independent coffeehouses (to try something new and support local businesses)?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 8:31 am

    What a fun idea for a blog series! Looking forward to hearing about the places you visit.

    Also – next week! Yay! Have I mentioned yet that I’m excited to see you?

    • August 10, 2011 10:16 am

      Looking forward to seeing you, too — and our coffee shop visit will be part of the series! 🙂

  2. August 10, 2011 8:33 am

    In the D.C. area, I love Kramerbooks and Tryst (I know, how cliche). I learned about Open City from your blog and I really want to try it out – especially because the menu features frozen chai! Yum!

    I live really close to Peregrine and Darlington House so I’m going to have to check those out ASAP!

    • August 10, 2011 10:17 am

      Both great choices – Kramerbooks is my favorite spot in DC. I’m definitely trying to get out of the neighborhood but expect to see plenty more places near our houses. 🙂

  3. August 10, 2011 9:26 am

    I love this series idea! I have to say, I have not found a coffee shop that I love in DC and I have been here for nearly 15 years. My offices and home have always been closest to good old Starbucks, which is fine, but I would prefer an independent shop. I do like to pop into Tryst and Open City now and then. I can tell you that my very favorite iced coffee comes from PJ’s in New Orleans – it is my absolute favorite!

  4. August 10, 2011 10:28 am

    Will Ebineezer make a spotlight!? 🙂

  5. August 31, 2011 8:47 pm

    Two things. One: I think this series definitely needs a Community Cafe throwback photo. What I wouldn’t give for another bowl of that potato soup…
    Two: Have you been to Bourbon Coffee on 21st and L? It’s right near my office and I’m a convert. I’m addicted to their iced vanilla lattes and they’ve got really cool decor.

    • August 31, 2011 8:48 pm

      Also, not sure why it autofilled my name as Melissaelissa, but I’ll take it.

    • August 31, 2011 9:58 pm

      Perhaps we can meet one afternoon for a coffee break? It’s on my to-try list! And… love the name!

      (Mmm… that potato soup aka the only thing I could eat there haha… but I was always partial to the spiced cookies)

  6. Sarah permalink
    September 8, 2011 7:05 pm

    I am currently writing a post about how people should stop drinking Starbucks because there are so many cool coffee shops out there. I just moved to DC and I am in love with Dolcezza’s. Jacob’s and Ebenezer’s are within walking distance of my apartment. I still have to try those ones out, but there are so many cute coffee shops and Cafes near DuPont Circle!

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

