Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

July 28, 2011

You know you’re a wonk when… you wish you could be thankful for a debt ceiling deal. I spend all day at work reading, writing and learning about the U.S. economy and while it’s all very important… I’m just sick of thinking about it.

But since a debt deal isn’t in the cards, let’s move on to happier topics.

It’s been another fun, busy week. Something about hot weather makes me crave sweets, which is why the total tally from last week is something like: 2 trips to FroZenYo, 1 free cookie tasting, 1 Rice Dream Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream sandwich and (thankfully) enough local peaches to start my own orchard. I also braved turning on the oven to make a batch of Adelia Gourmet blondies.

I jumped at the chance to sample the Adelia Gourmet blondie mix, handmade in Nashville and containing only real ingredients. What I didn’t expect was that the ‘mix’ is simply baking ingredients I already had in my own kitchen: flour, brown sugar, chocolate chips, etc. For a baker-on-the-go who wants the taste of homemade baking without having to stock his kitchen, Adelia is a great choice — after all, check out the ingredients in Betty Crocker Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix (yum, I love ‘partially hydrogenated soybean and/or cottonseed oil’!).

For someone who already has a fully-stocked pantry of baking supplies, the mix is a little superfluous at $8/bag but you know who this would be great for? College students, who love to bake and eat homemade treats but rarely/never keep baking supplies.

Thankfully, I just stocked up on bread-making supplies and am going to give my breadmaker a second try. Last time, it began smoking near the end of the 4-hour cycle and the loaf turned into a hard, lumpy thing. This time, I’ve bought new bread flour and a big jar of yeast, so I’m ready.

What else am I thankful for this week?

  • Having a cool, air-conditioned house and plenty of water during these steamy days. I’ve gotten into the habit of buying a few bottles of water (.28 each!) at FroZenYo (see, it’s more than just delicious, creamy fro yo)  every day and giving them out to some of the homeless guys I see on the walk to and from work. It’s too hot out there!
  • The first outdoor movie of the season tonight: An American Tail.
  • A upcoming Saturday roadtrip. Hints: Virginia, history, ‘ye olde,’ no peanut soup.
  • Planning two upcoming trips abroad.
  • Finding time to go to the gym twice this week. Progress, people, progress.

I’m off work tomorrow and have nothing planned — that’s a first! Washingtonians, what should I do (in the city)? And for everyone else, what are you thankful for?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 12:20 pm

    Loved this post! I’m thankful for the fact that I too have tomorrow off – I’m looking forward to it immensely!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

