Skip to content

New Ingredient: Kermit Eggplant

July 20, 2011

I haven’t wanted to do a lot of cooking lately. Since it’s so hot outside — are you tired yet of news stories declaring ‘IT’S HOT’ as if we weren’t aware? — all I want to eat for dinner are salads and wraps. No oven, no stove, no microwave.

But when I saw these adorable kermit eggplant at the farmer’s market Sunday, I knew I needed to try them for the New Ingredient Challenge.

It’s not easy being [a] green [eggplant in a world of purple and white ones].

These miniature eggplant are traditionally found in Thai cooking and most of the recipes I stumbled upon called for chili paste and coconut milk, two ingredients that aren’t in my woefully-understocked kitchen (but on the grocery list!).

One cooking tip suggested cooking with the stem intact, nearly quartering the eggplant to allow seasoning to infuse the entire veggie.

Rather than cook a curry, I whisked together a basic marinade with 1 tbsp. olive oil, 1 tbsp. balsamic vinegar, 1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard and chopped basil leaves from my new basil plant:

It makes me happy every day to see green plants on my steps. I picked up pots of basil, lavender and lemon balm, which smells awesome.

The eggplant went into a 350* oven for 40 minutes and while it roasted, I cooked some CSA potatoes, green beans and snow peas on the stovetop.

Dinner is served:

Let’s take a look inside.

Maybe I did something wrong. Maybe it was a bad eggplant. Maybe I just don’t like kermit eggplant. But despite marinating for an hour before roasting, then cooking for 40 minutes, the eggplant was tough and bitter. I took one bite, then devoured the rest of my plate, leaving the eggplant alone. Sorry, Kermit.

Since the kermit eggplant was a bust, let’s take a minute to talk about this awesome ‘Eat Local’ dish towel I picked up at Tabletop DC.

The company, Blue Q, makes its products from 95% recycled post-consumer material and employs disabled adults in its factory and stores, giving everyone a chance to work and make a living. This ‘Eat Local’ dish towel was perfect for a 100% local dinner. Now I’m just trying to restrain myself from going back and buying the whole set…

I’ve been in my apartment for nearly two months, but the kitchen is still sadly empty (blame it on travel!). What needs to go on my grocery list today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 9:23 am

    This is awesome!!! I love Kermit. He’s always been my favorite muppet. 🙂 Hmmm…my grocery list is never complete without lettuce, almond milk, and avocados (which I am pretty much obsessed with lately).

Leave a Reply

