Skip to content

Nicaragua: Mi Corazón Está Lleno

July 11, 2011

Nicaragua: My Heart Is Full

It’s really hard for me to organize my thoughts about Nicaragua because they run the gamut from excited and joyful to depressed, overwhelmed and sad to inspired and hopeful.

They say a picture’s worth a thousand words but when it comes to Nicaragua, a picture (or a few hundred pictures) can’t do it justice. Instead another cliche is true: seeing is believing.

We worked hard

ate well,

and met people we will never forget.

I’ll be sharing my Nicaragua service experience over the next week with photos and stories from the trip but to sum it up in one word: life-changing. This was the most difficult — but also the most rewarding — trip I have ever taken and I truly believe that it has altered the way I approach travel, work, play and belief.

Hasta mañana.

Have you had a life-changing experience? Please share!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Athena permalink
    July 11, 2011 1:23 pm

    Wow! What a great start. I look forward to reading more as you continue to process and reflect. Thanks for being a great roomie. And what an amazing photo of Ramon!

  2. July 11, 2011 5:47 pm

    I can’t wait to read about this. I am planning a trip to Africa next year to volunteer and I’m sure it will also be life changing. I studied in Mexico (Oaxaca) in college, and we traveled to a place where an indigenous tribe lives. It was beautiful but very different from the US. I learned a lot and I loved it. Thanks for the post and I look forward to more!!

  3. Marie permalink
    July 11, 2011 7:40 pm

    So glad you had such a wonderful trip. Can’t wait to hear more!

  4. July 11, 2011 7:48 pm

    Ohh I look forward to hearing more about this trip!!

  5. July 11, 2011 8:28 pm

    Sometimes the most moving, emotional experiences simply transcend words and have to be felt. It certainly sounds like that’s what this trip was for you. That said, looking forward to hearing more about it 🙂

  6. July 12, 2011 5:33 pm

    I’ll never forget the first time i saw absolute poverty in Mexico when I was teenager. Then a few years ago My hubby and I filmed a documentary where we went to China, India, and South Africa. After seeing the conditions and the joy that some of these people had I will forever (or at least try) be grateful.

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday: Children of Nicaragua « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. The Road to St. Jude « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

