Skip to content

New Ingredient: Kohlrabi

June 15, 2011

This is the first vegetable I’ve ever had to Google to figure out what it was.

When my half of the CSA basket arrived, I assumed that it was kohlrabi, which I’d seen on the pick-up list and was intrigued by, but wasn’t sure until Google Image Search confirmed it.

Isn’t it cheerful?

I knew for sure was that kohlrabi would be the perfect addition to my New Ingredient Challenge, but what is it? “Once the favored vegetable of European nobles and peasants alike,” kohlrabi is a cousin of broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower and Brussels sprouts.

Before doing anything, you need to peel it. Some kohlrabi are purple, others red, others white, but they all have greenish-white edible pulp.

When in doubt with vegetables, it can’t hurt to throw ’em in a pan with some olive oil and roast ’em. As I prepared to do that, I found this recipe for Kohlrabi Curry from Tasty Kitchen and switched directions.

30 minutes from raw to… ridiculously good.

I stayed true to the Tasty Kitchen recipe, although I left out garlic (don’t have any) and added in 1 tsp garam masala and a can of chickpeas to bulk it up.

Served over whole wheat couscous.

While this whole dish was delicious — and spicy thanks to the extra spices — what did the kohlrabi taste like?

Kohlrabi tastes like broccoli stem: kind of bland, kind of watery and a great addition to a dish for added heft without flavor interference.

If you see kohlrabi at your local grocery store or farmer’s market, try it out! I’d highly recommend this recipe but also saw plenty of people calling for simply roasting the veg in olive oil, garlic, S&P. Sometimes simple is best.

Have you made kohlrabi before? It was something I’d heard of but never (knowingly) seen or eaten until it showed up this week.

Also, I’d love fresh suggestions for New Ingredient Challenge ingredients. Leave a comment and let me know what to try next!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie permalink
    June 15, 2011 9:32 am

    I’ve never tried it but anything related to Brussels sprouts and broccoli can’t be bad! That recipe looks delicious.

  2. June 15, 2011 9:39 am

    I’ve seen this at one of my local grocers, but it was a lot smaller and green….baby kohlrabi maybe? LOL Either way, looks yum. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

