Skip to content

A Kid In A Candy Shop

June 7, 2011

Yesterday may have been all about radishes but when it comes down to it, I’ll take sweet over savory any day. When Anna, a friend from Korea passing through DC on her way to Tajikistan — isn’t it funny where life takes us?! — emailed last night and asked if I wanted to meet her for a last-minute frozen yogurt date, I jumped at the chance.

After all, who needs dinner when FroZenYo is just down the street?

Dulce de leche and cappuccino frozen yogurt with M&Ms and Heath bar.

But here’s the thing: despite having a toppings bar filled with everything from apples and kiwi to fudge sauce and Oreos, I always go for the most child-like combinations possible. If I’m going to eat dessert, I’m going all out and that means passing by the bananas and berries for M&Ms and Reese’s.

(actually, coconut mixed with chocolate fro yo is one of my favorite combinations, so let’s go ahead and call that the fruity ‘healthy’ option.)

The fact that I go all out while eating fro yo surprises people who assume that because I love lentils, pumpkin and spinach, I’d automatically go for the healthier dessert option.

Thin mints frozen yogurt with Oreos and Reese’s.

Absolutely not. If I’m going to eat dessert, I’m going to eat dessert. Fruit is an every day sweet treat. Chocolate and sweets — now that is dessert. And nothing makes a summer evening better than a bowl of frozen yogurt.

What are your favorite ice cream / frozen yogurt toppings?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 6:09 pm

    FroZenYo (which opened its first branch down the street from my old apartment…danger…) also stocks chunks of brownie and chunks of cake sometimes. You must try that.

    I feel like they just need to have a tub of frosting sitting there to add to it.

  2. June 7, 2011 6:46 pm

    oh my god, girl you and i are on the same page. if youre having dessert you gotta have the good stuff!!

  3. fhyrew permalink
    June 7, 2011 7:06 pm

    I usually go for almonds with frozen yogurt; they’re healthy and they add a nice crunch. But I don’t begrudge your philosophy of going all out in moderation.

  4. June 7, 2011 8:02 pm

    My, we are birds of a feather! True life: I detest the whole tart froyo with berries thing. Grody. I live near a Yogiberry, and they are Taro froyo, which I adore with Cake Batter flavor, mochi, maraschino cherries, almonds, and pirouette cookies 🙂

    • June 8, 2011 12:08 pm

      I don’t like the tart yogurt, either. Give me sweet any day!

  5. June 8, 2011 1:33 am

    You are nothing compared to me! I go candy crazy when I go to froyo places! I have at least 7 different types of candy on my frozen yogurt. I really love cookies and cream and cake batter froyo and I always have oreos, waffle cone pieces, mini reese’s pieces, butterfingers, sprinkles, and gummy bear ( I ate the bears as soon as I sit down!) See I am like a little kid!

  6. June 8, 2011 7:57 am

    Thin Mint frozen yogurt?! That sounds SO good!!

  7. June 8, 2011 11:31 am

    yum yum yum! I think I need to go get some frozen yogurt today! http://frozenyo.com/flavors

  8. June 8, 2011 12:42 pm

    I’m quite certain I could eat/drink my weight in hot fudge…:p

  9. June 8, 2011 4:40 pm

    My favorite ice cream combo (at least from FroZenYo) is tuxedo style (vanilla and chocolate mixed), topped with Heath bar, Kitkat, gummy worms (don’t ask) and one white chocolate pretzel. Mmm MMM.

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

