Skip to content

Thankful Thursday: CSA Edition

June 2, 2011

Another Thankful Thursday is here and my mind is on one thing:

My sister doesn’t understand why I’m so excited by the CSA haul every week but how can you not look forward to this gorgeous haul? This was the last week of pre-season before early season next week and we’ve been seeing lots of greens and strawberries. I’m looking forward to corn and peaches later in the summer but this week’s basket included:

  • sugar snap peas
  • asparagus
  • tomatoes
  • rhubarb
  • romaine lettuce
  • kale
  • strawberries
  • eggs

It’s been fun sampling the late spring diversity of produce. These sugar snap peas are my current favorite — so sweet and crisp, they’re ideally eaten raw. Just grab a handful from the container and go. One night for dinner, I made a huge crudité platter with carrots, cucumbers, peppers, cherry tomatoes and these perfect peas. Even raw asparagus tastes surprisingly good with a swipe of hummus!

If you can’t get excited by sugar snap peas, how about local eggs? Last year’s egg supplier lived across town from my mom and this year, The Hen’s Nest in New Windsor, Md., provides a dozen eggs from cage-free, pastured chickens.

Local eggs may be more expensive but the taste is leaps and bounds above anything you’ll buy at the grocery store. Gorgeous golden yolks say it all and once you take a bite, you’ll definitely have something to be thankful for.

That’s what I’m thankful for this week! What about you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 8:07 am

    I’m thankful that it’s a 4-day week.

  2. June 2, 2011 9:26 am

    We did a CSA share last summer but there was basically zero variety and we ended up not eating most of it which totally defeated the purpose. Looks gorgeous!

    • June 2, 2011 10:52 am

      Mine is farmers market-style so we can choose what to pick up every week.

  3. June 2, 2011 9:55 am

    I am thankful for good eats, good friends and family, and good love. Also, good weather! I’d be curious to find out the taste difference between local and supermarket eggs…

  4. June 2, 2011 11:11 am

    I am thankful I have a body that can handle a hot yoga class, and as a result, my life has been changed forever.

    Love rhubarb! Let me know if you need any recipes for it 🙂

    • June 2, 2011 1:02 pm

      Absolutely! I’ve made strawberry-rhubarb crisp and strawberry-rhubarb galette and would love more ideas!

  5. June 3, 2011 7:27 am

    I can’t wait to puck up my first CSA next week!

Leave a Reply

