Skip to content

Guest Post: Breakfast for Dinner

May 25, 2011

While I was having a blast at Fitbloggin’ (check out what I did and what I learned) my friends continued having fun without me — how rude! 😉 Zoe — I’m trying to convince her to start a food blog — offered to provide a full recap of our monthly group dinner, this one with the fun Breakfast for Dinner theme. Just seeing these photos makes me drool so you’d better believe that next month I’ll be there in person.

Everyone knows I love pizza.

If you don’t, then you likely don’t know me. And that’s fine. It does, however, serve as a mere introduction to myself and one of my loves: food.

Now, I may have been a picky eater in my munchkin days, but rest assured I ate a lot. Growing up, my friends could not understand how I ate packs of cookies for lunch coupled with Country Time lemonade and not gain a pound.  I also had a standard packed lunch for 12 years – PB&J on white bread, an apple, Juicy Juice, and Jell-O pudding. My friends, descendants of Woodstock aficionados, had the good fortune to dine on hummus, pita and chopped fruit. Of course, I never received such bold cuisine in my Sesame Street lunchbox.

Fast forward several years later and I have achieved Food Addict status. I also have a Domino’s Pizza Fan for Life certificate adorned on my bedroom wall. (Not really, but I should.) As pizza remains one of the most perfect and potentially healthy meals of all time, it was only fitting for me to make a pie that reaps the benefits of health and taste for our monthly girls’ dinner.  But, enough background.

Erin has done a wonderful job covering our girls’ dinner nights. Unfortunately, she could not join us on Thursday evening, but we pressed on knowing she would never allow us to forgo the tradition of cooking and creating culinary masterpieces. In holding the temporary food blogging reins, I will rewind time for others to visualize this feast at full horsepower.

Breakfast for Dinner was this month’s theme, and it was chock full of morning delights. Coupled with orange juice and some Diego Bernal tunes, there was devouring of pancakes, sausages, salad, pizza, and quiches.

  • The pancakes were homemade, light and fluffy, with a hint of cinnamon and vanilla.
  • Breakfast salad was a scrumptious affair: cut strawberries, crumbled blue cheese, and fresh greens sprinkled with olive oil and red wine vinegar were a light and needed addition to the meal.

  • Spinach quiche and tomato quiche always look simply decadent.

  • The entrée, pizza fiorentine, housed grated parmesan and buffalo mozzarella cheese, spinach leaves, pasta sauce, and an egg in the middle. Having egg on a pizza was strange, but had to be tried!

Dining on mini pastries from local Georgetown bakery, Patisserie Poupon, there was quite the spread of mocha and chocolate éclairs, cheesecakes topped with fruit, and other assorted goodies.  Sadly, I forgot to take a picture as I had descended into a rather breakfast-y food coma and could only drift away into savory, sugary bliss.

Thanks for your guest post, Zoe. Now I have to ask: breakfast for dinner: yea or nay? I’m a big fan of eggs for a quick, easy meal with minimum prep time but would never think to make pancakes/waffles/oatmeal for dinner.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 9:58 am

    What a gorgeous meal! Love breakfast for dinner–so fun and cozy.

  2. May 25, 2011 1:37 pm

    LOVE breakfast for dinner. Since breakfast is my favorite meal I could probably do it for breakfast, lunch, AND dinner 🙂

  3. May 25, 2011 11:16 pm

    I hosted our biweekly group night last week, and my theme was breakfast for dinner! Or… PM breakfast! I tried the most amazing Creme Brulee French Toast recipe (Epicurious) with bacon, sausage and hash browns. My friend brought watermelon slices, and our other friends supplied the juice. For dessert, my boyfriend whipped up strawberry shortcake — literally, he made homemade whipped cream! It was all delicious, and I’m definitely a big fan of breakfast for dinner, though I usually just do omelets. 🙂

  4. May 26, 2011 2:19 am

    Breakfast for dinner is a definite yay! In fact, I’ve eaten a cheese omelet three nights in a row (I’m anticipating a burnout VERY soon). I also enjoy making coconut flour pancakes, however, like you, I tend to prefer savory over sweet in the evening. (At least for my entree…I *always* end my dinner with chocolate or ice cream.) 🙂

    I’d like a taste of everything in this post! Zoe, what were your thoughts about the egg on the pizza? I’ve always been curious to try it!

  5. simone permalink
    May 30, 2011 3:12 pm

    bummed i missed the bfast themed dinner too! sadly enough i had cereal for every meal yesterday for lack of other food

Leave a Reply

