Skip to content

Fitbloggin’ 11: Why I Went, What I Did

May 22, 2011

When I first heard about Fitbloggin’, the annual blogging conference for fitness and healthy living bloggers, I wasn’t sure whether or not to attend. I don’t really fit into the ‘healthy living’ category and I’m certainly not a fitness blogger. Thankfully, Jess convinced me that I’d have a place at the conference and would fit in.

I’m so glad she twisted my arm — okay, not really, it was an easy sell — and got me to sign up. How else would we have an awesome photo like this?

PhotobucketThat’s the other great thing about Fitbloggin’. Besides the awesome relationships formed, the swag bag is pretty impressive. I walked away with goodies like New Balance sneakers and capris, Jillian Michaels’ new book, coupons galore and basically a year’s worth of popchips.

Life is good and I am spoiled. A purse stuffed with popchips and probiotic chocolate bars? (Who knew Attune made such a thing?!) Totally worth the drive to Baltimore.

PhotobucketMy favorite part of Fitbloggin’, honestly, was the people. It was amazing to put faces to names I knew from blogs and Twitter and especially gratifying when they approached me to say they were readers. For someone who has a wee little blog in a sea of bigger, more successful blogs, it was nice to know that there are real people reading.

So what did we do at Fitbloggin’? As you can imagine, there were plenty of changes to work out. Although I wish there’d been more outdoor events during this gorgeous weekend, a Zumba class was a great way to get the blood flowing first thing in the morning.

Sweaty but fun.

photo by Amanda

Since I’m not a running/weight-lifting/ultra-triathlete-marathoner-IronMan, I was far more interested in the food than the fitness. Attune and Eggland’s Best sponsored breakfast but I was more excited for massive bowls of fresh berries.

Oh yea, and coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. I never quite recovered from that first Fitbloggin’ morning when I woke up at 5:30 am to drive to Baltimore.

As you’d expect from a conference geared toward healthy people, they fed us pretty well with lots of vegetables, whole grains and options for a range of dietary plans and restrictions.

The best thing I ate at Fitbloggin’? A new (or just new-to-me?) flavor of Dr. Praeger’s. These Tex Mex veggie burgers were epic-ly good, with huge chunks of veggies and black beans. A little salsa on top and… yum!

When I wasn’t stuffing my face or gossiping, I was doing this:

Fitbloggin’ offered awesome, informative, helpful sessions that taught me lessons I can’t wait to apply to my blog. From social media tips to advice on breaking into vlogging, a discussion of blogger responsibility and a hilarious panel about using humor in your blog — I learned a ton and had fun the entire time.

What did I take away from Fitbloggin’? Besides a ton of new blogs for my Google Reader and dozens of new people to follow on Twitter, I feel like my passion for blogging was completely restored and, even better, I have new ideas on how to develop my blog (aka, my brand) as a reflection of my personal and professional goals.

Thanks to Roni for organizing an amazing get-together of like-minded people; thanks to all of the bloggers and tweeters who were so welcoming and friendly; thanks to every person who I got the chance to speak with and for those I missed — now that I’ve attended one blogging conference, I can’t wait for the next one so see you there!

Were you at Fitbloggin’? Have you attending blogging conferences or informal get-togethers before?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 9:19 am

    It sounds like you had an amazing time! What an innovative – and just all-around great – idea to organize something like this. It looks like it was a huge success for everyone involved πŸ™‚

    • May 22, 2011 3:15 pm

      I’d highly recommend finding a conference with like-minded people to network and learn more about your potential field.

  2. May 22, 2011 11:10 am

    I was there!! I didn’t get to meet you! This was my first bloggers’ conference. It was pretty cool! Love your wrap up. Makes me wish I had taken more photos!

    • May 22, 2011 3:15 pm

      Wasn’t it great?! I’m ready for Fitbloggin 12!

  3. May 22, 2011 12:31 pm

    I was there and am sad I didn’t get to really meet you!! Hope you will be at Fitbloggin 12!! πŸ™‚
    AJ/Andrea

    • May 22, 2011 3:16 pm

      So many people to meet, only two days to do it. See you next year! πŸ™‚

  4. May 22, 2011 1:31 pm

    Gaahhh! Totally jealous. I hope to attend a blogger conference in the future.

    • May 22, 2011 3:16 pm

      Going to this conference (my first!) made me want to attend many more in the future. So much fun!

  5. May 22, 2011 8:54 pm

    Hahahah OMG I totally love this picture of us! I’m so glad you decided to come to Fitbloggin’ and I’m glad you had an awesome time!

    • May 23, 2011 7:11 am

      Now we just need to get better about making NON-blog plans. πŸ˜‰

  6. May 22, 2011 9:52 pm

    I was there and felt a little weird about it too because I’m a food blogger, not a “fitness” person. But I got a lot out of it and really enjoyed it.

    • May 23, 2011 7:12 am

      I thought there was a good mix of interests, though, and there was always common ground with the other bloggers.

  7. lowandbhold permalink
    May 22, 2011 10:02 pm

    I went to Fitbloggin’ last year. I met some great girls! I agree with the above commenter – I don’t know that I’m 100% the right demographic but I love blogger meet-ups and hope to attend other blogging events in the future.

    • May 23, 2011 7:13 am

      This was my first blogging conference and I’m hooked — I want another one! πŸ˜‰

  8. May 22, 2011 11:20 pm

    Reading all of these recaps makes me really wish I would have went. Maybe next year!

    • May 23, 2011 7:13 am

      Now I understand why everyone raves about these conferences (Fitbloggin, HLS, etc.) year after year. Next year!

  9. May 25, 2011 8:16 am

    I went for the second time this year and it was even better than the last one. I’m glad you went and had a good time. See you in a year πŸ˜‰

  10. May 25, 2011 10:15 am

    I’ve never been and hope I can go to fitbloggin next year. Great photos!

  11. June 1, 2011 10:42 am

    Great recap! LOVED Fitbloggin. It was worth the plane ride from Atlanta, too! Already looking forward to next year.

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

Trackbacks

  1. Fitbloggin’ 11: What I Learned « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Guest Post: Breakfast for Dinner « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat
  4. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat
  5. A popchips Giveaway! « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

