Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

May 12, 2011

This week has been fun, tiring, surprising, crazy, busy and overwhelming. Most of all, it’s been full of big blessings, ‘it’s a small world after all moments and plenty to be thankful for.

Monday was my first day at my new job — hello, HuffPo! The first day at a new job is always the hardest but by today, I feel like I have a good handle on what the job entails and how my role fits into the larger organization. I think this job will require a lot more hard work than my last position at AOL but I’m looking forward to the challenge and excited to take the next step in my career progression.

(What is that career? I’m not really sure but so far, it’s involved a lot of blogging so let’s hope it continues along that path!)

Along with starting a new job, I also am thankful to have found an apartment! I’ll have more details and photos soon, but I found the apartment on Craigslist Sunday morning (Mother’s Day!), snuck out of church 15 minutes early to attend an open house and by 2:00 that afternoon, received an email offering me the apartment. I’m going by this evening to sign the lease and take some photos but for now, I’ll just say that it’s cozy (which any apartment hunter knows is code for ‘small’ 😉 ), cute and located in my dream neighborhood.

A new job and a new apartment? What else could I possibly have to be thankful for?

– A much-improved commute. Instead of 2.5+ hours in the car daily, my bus + Metro commute now takes 40 minutes each way. Once I move, I’ll live just a 10-minute walk from work!

– Friends with roof decks. On a nice spring evening, it’s fun to sit on top of the city and socialize. Last night: grilled pizza.

– The return of sundresses. One a day, every day. No pants until fall!

– Estate sales. If you’re moving and on a budget, estate sales are your friends. Check Craigslist for local listings.

– CSA season. The first pick-up was last night — my mom picked up the haul, so I’m curious to see what we got during this pre-season cycle.

Scoutmob. Lee introduced me to this and I’ve shared it with all of my friends. I love these mobile deals that require no payment up-front.

FitBloggin’ next week!

With all of the good things that have happened lately, I can’t help but think the other shoe will drop and something bad will happen to balance out the good. Are you superstitious like that?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 8:05 am

    Oh sweet. It’s hugely popular in Atlanta. I’m glad you will be able to use it in DC.

    And I secretly want to move back to the DC area and work at the Huffington Post too. Well, maybe not that secretly.

    • May 13, 2011 9:00 am

      I’ve introduced it to all of my friends and they love it. All of the deals have been in my new neighborhood, too — score!

  2. May 12, 2011 12:07 pm

    Wow, what a week you’ve had. Huge congratulations on the apartment. I’ll be looking forward to seeing pics. Congrats again on the amazing new job opportunity, too. This is such an exciting step on your journey, and you’re going to be INCREDIBLE with it!

    • May 13, 2011 8:59 am

      Thanks Shari! I took some pics yesterday but the current tenant’s stuff is still there, so I may not post ‘ before’ pics until the place is completely empty.

  3. Kristin permalink
    May 12, 2011 10:19 pm

    I know I’ve said this before, but I seriously LOVE your thankful Thursday posts!!! I am soooooo OVERRRRRR reading complaining on blogs. I know of so many people right now who were forced out of their homes due to flooding/tornadoes in the Midwest recently, and they’ve lost cars/homes/everything. Then I read a blogger who is annoyed about flight delays due to storms in the Midwest. I understand we all have annoyances, but you could at least mention being grateful that you are ON a flight and can AFFORD a flight or get free flights from blogging and have a home to go back to.

    Anyway, blah blah blah, it’s always refreshing to read yours. Not to compare you to other bloggers who you may be friends with! I just wish more would remember to be grateful on their blogs.

    • May 13, 2011 8:58 am

      You are so sweet! I have to credit Shannon at The Daily Balance (thedailybalance.com) for inspiring Thankful Thursday — she created it, I followed. 🙂

  4. May 13, 2011 7:45 am

    I am soo happy for you on the new apartment and your job going great. Honestly, I knew you would find something great soon. Congrats! Also, 10 minutes WALK to work?! Talk about me being super jealous. That is a dream of mine…to park the car and live close enough to work to walk. Good for you Erin. Look forward to sharing these exciting next few weeks with you.

    • May 13, 2011 8:59 am

      Did the walk yesterday and it’s actually 15 minutes door-to-door. I think I can handle that. 😉

  5. May 13, 2011 10:30 am

    Yay! SO glad you won’t have such a long commute anymore! The thought of it always made me cringe. Congrats on the new job, too!

Leave a Reply

