Skip to content

Brunch at Birch & Barley

May 9, 2011

Wasn’t yesterday a beautiful day for Mother’s Day?

The forecasted rain never showed up and it turned into a sunny, warm day. Perfect!

I spent the day with my mom and sister and hope you were able to celebrate with your family, too.

This card is really appropriate if you know me and my sister. 😉

After church, we walked over to brunch at Birch & Barley. All of the tables outside were full but our table was near the open kitchen, where we could see the cooks hard at work.

Walking into the restaurant–known for its 555 artisanal beers–I had no idea what to expect from the brunch menu.

Fun fact: Birch & Barley is the companion restaurant to Churchkey, home of The New Luther (bun: house-made brioche donut glazed with maple-chicken jus and pecans. Filling: buttermilk fried chicken and applewood smoked bacon.)

I passed on the Boozy Brunch and went straight for a cup–okay, three cups–of hot illy coffee.

As a Mother’s Day treat, Mom ordered the Brunch Punch (rum, cherry herring, cointreau, pineapple juice, angostura bitters), which ended up being very strong. What is the etiquette in these situations when a drink isn’t what you expected? Do you send it back and ask for a weaker blend? Push it aside? Say ‘bottoms up’ and chug the entire thing?

Thankfully, my meal was exactly what I wanted: huevos rancheros (Pepper Jack-Avocado Omelet) with black bean papusas and perfectly-crispy home fries.

I loved every bite. A Spanish-style omelet was a nice twist on huevos rancheros, which is normally smothered by a heavy tortilla. I literally licked my plate clean and wasn’t hungry again the rest of the day. It was that good.

Whenever I’m in restaurants, I spend half the time eying dishes ordered by other tables and getting ideas for my next visit. Who’s ready for a brunch date? 😀

After brunch, all Mom wanted to do was go home and do some gardening so that’s what we did. A low-key Mother’s Day was my mom’s preference but how did you celebrate Mother’s Day?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 10:11 am

    I love, love that card! Too cute.

  2. Andrew S. permalink
    May 9, 2011 10:45 am

    Beat mom in Scrabble. I would’ve let her win, but she taught me too well.

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Buzz Bakery: Cute Overload « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

