Skip to content

A Cinco de Mayo Meal

May 6, 2011

I love Cinco de Mayo. True, I don’t know the history or back story of this pseudo holiday but I do love Mexican food so what’s not to celebrate?

I never met a Mexican meal I didn’t like and after seeing amazing-looking fish tacos on Chase‘s blog, I knew exactly what to make for dinner last night.

These fish tacos (made with whiting instead of tilapia) were incredibly easy, taking just 20 minutes from start to finish. I seasoned the fish with just fresh lemon juice and pepper, then baked it. To make the coleslaw, I simply combined chopped cabbage and onion, cilantro, lime juice, mayonnaise and paprika, plus a shake of chili powder for a slight kick.

I wrapped the fish in small corn tortillas and garnished with coleslaw, fresh chopped mango, homemade guacamole, cilantro and a squeeze of lime juice.

I loved this combination of flavors, so different from the heavy and breaded fish tacos you get at restaurant. I prefer these lighter ingredients than don’t include cheese, sour cream or other condiments.

In addition to the coleslaw, the tacos were served with lemon cilantro quinoa: cook the quinoa per package directions but add 1/4 cup lemon juice to the water. Mix in fresh cilantro to the cooked quinoa and serve.

To stay in the Cinco de Mayo spirit, these Goya Maria cookies hit the spot. It wasn’t until we were chowing down that I noticed the cookies are Spanish, not Mexican. Oops!

I’ve bookmarked this meal to make again. Quick, easy, tasty and healthy? That’s right up my alley!

Did you do anything special for Cinco de Mayo?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 11:46 am

    Yum! Mangoes with savory Mexican sounds delicious

  2. May 6, 2011 3:42 pm

    we made margarita cupcakes. 😉 funny how we turn holidays into our own excuses to celebrate various cultures, like oktoberfest and st. patty’s day.

  3. May 7, 2011 12:07 pm

    wow, those look AMAZING- I will definitely have to make them! I didn’t do anything on real cinco de mayo because I had a ton of work to get done- by on seis de mayo I went out for margaritas with my work friends- so that was our celebration 🙂

  4. May 7, 2011 3:10 pm

    I had already eaten Thai by the time I noticed it was May 5th 😦 That would have never happened back in my college days in San Diego….tragic

Leave a Reply

