Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

May 5, 2011

I’ve been in a bit of a slump for the past couple of weeks — job stress, moving stress, life stress — and that’s affected my blogging. So it’s only fitting that on Thankful Thursday, I have some stress relief to be thankful for.

Job: Tomorrow is my last day at AOL. I loved running AOL Hot Searches for the past year but on Monday, I’ll start a new job at The Huffington Post. The stress over leaving AOL has been a huge weight on my shoulders over the past few months, as my compassionate and understanding friends and family can attest, so it’s been a huge blessing and relief to go straight from a job I loved to another I’m even more excited about.

Moving: Because of job uncertainty, I held off moving over the past couple of months. I didn’t want to relocate to Virginia if my job wasn’t going to be out there; at the same time, I didn’t want to commit a ton of money every month if I might be unemployed soon. Thankfully, everything worked out and I’ve spent the past couple of weeks apartment hunting. DC has an expensive housing market — the bad economy has largely left the city alone — so it’s been a balance between finding affordable housing in a nice, safe location.

Moving, part 2: For a while, I was trying to find the ‘perfect’ place: lots of space, an outdoor area, in my ideal neighborhood, updated appliances, plentiful amenities. But what I’ve realized recently is that location > space. I’d rather have a smaller apartment in an awesome neighborhood than a big place in a less-than-ideal area. My inspiration? Apartment Therapy. After browsing entries in its Small, Cool Contest, I’ve become convinced I can make a small studio work, especially since I’m starting (furniture- and decorating-wise) from scratch.

What else am I thankful for this week?

  • CSA season starts next week! My mom and I are splitting a 28-week share that runs May to November and I can’t wait for more incredible produce cornucopias.
  • Cinco de Mayo. What should I make for dinner?
  • Enjoying the most incredible Salade printaniรจre de poissons grillรฉs / Spring green salad with grilled salmon, shrimp, scallops, fish of the day and fresh mango at Bistro Lepic Sunday.
  • Cool days with zero humidity and lots of sunshine.
  • Bethesda Greek Festival tomorrow night — food, drinks, dancing and Yia Yia’s Attic Flea Market. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • And most of all: scenes like this after news of Osama bin Laden’s death was announced.

What are you thankful for this week?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 7:46 am

    Oh Erin, I feel so bad for you with the stress of leaving the old job. I totally understand the discomfort of this. It is super hard but in the end, you made the right decision, for you. Good luck with the apartment hunting.
    Something I have learned about life is that; nothing that is worth it ever, ever, ever comes easy. There is always some measure of stress and tears to be shed. In the end, your new job will be amazing and your apartment will be super cute and in a great neighborhood. Compromise but not too much.

  2. May 5, 2011 7:59 am

    Oh wow, the Huffington Post, cool! Are they owned by AOL? For some reason I think that, but I could be wrong.

    I wrote this to you on twitter, but I definitely think that location > space for you right now. You are still young and have lots of time to have a big house in the burbs (not that that was your other choice but you know what I mean) one day. I live in a decent sized house in the suburbs and between you and me, I sort of hate it. I really wish I lived in the city.

    • May 5, 2011 8:53 am

      Yes, AOL recently bought The Huffington Post so my job change is technically an internal transfer.

      Thanks for your advice. I’m definitely not looking for a big house haha but I was hoping to have least have more than one room. For the price, though, I’d rather have the amazing location. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kristin permalink
    May 5, 2011 8:15 am

    CONGRATS on the new job! ๐Ÿ™‚ How awesome to work for The Huffington Post. I would love to do that! Also, I had a studio for two years, and I had the same worries at first. BUT I loved it, and while I am loving my two-bedroom right now, I think I could go back to a studio. As you said, it’s all about how you design it and make it your own. I made sure that since my bed was not in a bedroom I made my bed + headboard really cute. It became more of a focal point with a really attention-catching, statement-making headboard and tons of pillows. I did have to keep things clean more often, but it’s so small — wasn’t too hard. I also tried to create little mini “rooms” by using furniture and rugs to make areas, which also made it feel more like a 1-bedroom or something. And again, location location location, I was five-minutes from downtown Des Moines and went to the farmers market every Saturday and walked to tons of places instead of driving. You’ll love it!!! GOOD LUCK! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 5, 2011 8:53 am

      Thanks for your congratulations and tips. I’ve been stalking Apartment Therapy like crazy to find decorating ideas for small spaces. Location > space, right?! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. May 5, 2011 9:26 am

    Woow Congrats on the awesome-sounding job Erin!!! Tell us more about it. What will your role be at the HuffPo? I’m so excited for you!

    Is the new gig in DC? I was wondering why you were looking for houses in D.C. when you worked all the way out near Dulles, but I guess it all makes sense now! So happy for you!

    • May 5, 2011 12:59 pm

      The job is at Farragut North so I’ve been scoping out apartments in Dupont and Foggy Bottom. My short list is down to two — just waiting to hear back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. May 5, 2011 9:41 am

    Congrats on the new position! That is really exciting!!

  6. May 5, 2011 12:32 pm

    Oh WOW, The Huffington Post!! That is amazing, and so well-deserved. Congratulations, Erin. I’m beyond thrilled for you and can’t wait to hear about all the phenomenal things in store for you on this new journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 5, 2011 1:00 pm

      Shari, you’re the one always telling people to dream big, right? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • May 5, 2011 5:09 pm

        Absolutely! So excited for you that those dreams are coming true!!

  7. May 5, 2011 1:45 pm

    Congrats on your new job!!! good luck with the apartment hunting, that is such a pain, but I agree, location is the most important!

  8. May 5, 2011 2:13 pm

    Congrats on the new job, Erin! Moving and job situations are so stressful – I’m glad things have fallen into place! And Apartment Therapy is the cure-all for any decoration/design related issue. I could waste 4203 hours on that site.

  9. May 5, 2011 4:44 pm

    Congratulations on your new job Erin! I’m confused though, doesn’t AOL own the Huff Post?

    In any case, what an amazing place to work. I’m sure it’ll open up a whole lot of doors for a talented writer like you!

    • May 6, 2011 11:51 am

      Yes, AOL recently bought HuffPost so it’s technically an internal transfer, which makes it a lot easier paperwork-wise! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Danielle permalink
    May 9, 2011 7:34 pm

    Erin, thank you so much for your comments about apartment hunting! You’re right that it’s a balance between affordable and safe. I think I’ve finally realized that it will always be a compromise between those two things and space. I’m so glad to hear that your sweat and tears are over though! What area are you moving to? And congrats on the new job too- such exciting changes! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

