Skip to content

Around-The-World Potluck

May 2, 2011

When my friends and I get together for our monthly potluck dinners with their ever-changing themes, one thing remains constant: there will be wine.

Because really, what’s a girls’ get-together without wine? Not fun, that’s what. 😉

This month’s dinner theme: foods representing our ethnic heritage (or, in Allie‘s case, the heritage of her dream man).

Zoe the Greca busted out incredible spanakopita, straight from the Greece to our table.

I could have eaten the entire thing. And nearly did–I lost track of how many pieces I took.

In honor of her dream Spanish husband, Allie mastered Tortilla Espanola, a Spanish omelet with eggs, potatoes, onions and herbs.

We took our food up to the roof, where it joined Erin’s Irish beer bread. A hoppy beer gave this loaf a very strong beer flavor but I liked it as always (the bread, that is).

My Mexican salad–I have to embrace that 1/8 part of my DNA!–was packed with romaine, peppers, onions, black beans and tomatoes.

Don’t you love dining al fresco?

Confession: I was asked to add salt and pepper to the Tortilla Espanola but I accidentally added sugar and pepper, instead. Who puts sugar right next to pepper on the counter?! 😉 Luckily, no one noticed my mistake.

(blame terrible rooftop fluorescent lighting, not the chef, for the green tone of this entree. Eek.)

Back inside, Simone presented the best part of any meal: dessert!

Remember Simone’s guest post from Finland in January? For dinner, she prepared one of her Finnish family favorites, riisipuuro, a Christmas dish that is basically the same (or identical to?) rice pudding.

I loved every sweet and creamy bite. It’s a good thing I don’t know how to make riisipuuro, actually, because then I might just whip up huge pots and eat every bite. Then again… it took more than 5 hours to make just six servings!

A little cinnamon on top=perfection.

I left dinner full and happy. What should be our theme for May’s potluck?

Apartment hunting update: The bad economy has not affected DC, meaning rent prices are high and turnover is low. I’ve put in applications at a couple of places but so far, haven’t found the one. I know it’s out there–I just have to keep looking!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 9:39 pm

    Yumm! I love me some spanikopita 🙂 I suggest the theme for May is grown-up versions of your favorite kid foods (think lobster mac & cheese for Kraft). Good luck with the apartment hunt!!

  2. JPatch permalink
    May 3, 2011 2:29 pm

    Looks delish! Miss you girls!

  3. May 6, 2011 3:45 pm

    There is always wine at my dinner parties! 🙂 And beer too… Sometimes I wonder if my friends are just a bunch of alcoholics! j/k

Leave a Reply

