Skip to content

Georgetown French Market

April 30, 2011

On a sunny Saturday–birds chirping, flowers blooming, a gentle breezing blowing and every other springtime cliche you can think of–there’s nowhere I’d rather be than a good festival. Food, music, art, culture, politics–you name the topic, I’m up for a festival celebrating it. And after waking up at 4 am for the royal wedding made me a zombie yesterday afternoon, I was ready to get outside and walk around.

Thankfully, the annual Georgetown French Market fit the bill.

This street festival takes place in one of my favorite areas of Georgetown, Book Hill. For a reader, there’s no more glorious neighborhood name. Believe me, if I could afford to live on Book Hill, I would. (It’s called Book Hill because of the stunning Georgetown Library.)

Today wasn’t about books. Today was all France, all the time.

This section of Georgetown is packed with antiques shops and cute cafes and the sidewalks were filled with tables offering discounts and special merchandise. I’m not sure which I spent more time ogling: the food (including Patisserie Poupon and Cafe Bonaparte) or the home decor items (like The French Apartment, A Mano and Random Harvest).

Live music kept the crowds entertained. For a minute, I mentally transported myself back to Paris. It’s just too bad none of the cafes were serving wine and cheese plates.

I wish I’d worn my beret and scarf to the market but alas, my beret (what, you thought I was joking?! 😉 ) is buried in a box of winter hats and gloves somewhere at my mom’s house. C’est la vie!

More fun finds were hidden around every corner. DC is an old city by American standards but it seems especially true in Georgetown, where many houses have flicking gas lamps in front and cobblestone alleys wind in and out of major streets.

Somehow I managed to leave the festival without buying anything–crepes called my name but the line stretched far down the street–but the biggest temptation was colorful linens imported from France.

How did I walk away without snatching up tea towels, tablecloths and aprons in a rainbow of colors? Since everything was just normal price and selection, I decided that once I move and know what I need, I can go back for a shopping spree. No unnecessary purchases allowed until then.

Speaking of moving… I saw nearly a dozen apartments Thursday, a couple today and will hopeful tour several tomorrow. I’m trying to be flexible and picture empty spaces as blank canvasses, focusing on positive aspects and not the flaws. One apartment tomorrow looks especially appealing, mostly for the awesome location, so my fingers are crossed that I’ll have a definite move-in date and apartment by the end of the weekend.

What are you up to this weekend? Have you ever been to France? I’ve been twice, most recently in 2006 just after Christmas. It was freezing but as gorgeous as always, especially with many shops and restaurants still decorated for the holidays. The highlight was hot chocolate at Angelina, a stop I requested that was worth every sinful sip of thick, creamy African hot chocolate. If you’re in Paris, it’s a must!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 10:13 pm

    I’ve never been to the French Market, and am pretty bummed I missed out today! I remember seeing signs last week, but completely forgot to jot down a reminder. C’est la vie! I guess I can go next year!

    The African hot chocolate from Angelina looks amazing. Next time I’m in Paris, I’ll definitely stop in.

    Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend, and good luck with the apartment search!

  2. April 30, 2011 11:14 pm

    I went to Paris, France the summer between my Junior and Senior year of high school… it also happened to be exactly a week before Princess Diana’s car crash happened! I thought it was so weird that I was *just* there and knew of exactly where it had happened.

    This looks like it was a fun afternoon! I definitely ran through that area over the winter when I was in training but haven’t been back since.

    Good luck with the apartment hunt!

  3. May 1, 2011 9:46 am

    I went to France when I was 13 and totally didn’t appreciate it. I’d love to go back.

    • May 2, 2011 5:14 pm

      I went to France at the same age (12 or 13) and didn’t appreciate it either. Much better at 21!

  4. May 2, 2011 5:15 pm

    I went to Paris when I was 18. I was so homesick, but I loved it!

Leave a Reply

