Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

April 28, 2011

Today is it: ‘House Hunters DC.’ I have 10 apartments on the agenda, covering a long swath of northwest DC. Apartment hunting is both fun and stressful but I’m thankful to have so many options and the budget to find housing in neighborhoods I really like and feel safe in. Let’s hope one of them works out!

There’s been so much scary weather news from the midwest this week but the worst we’ve had here were a couple of intense thunderstorms. I’m thankful that everyone I know is safe and unaffected by tornadoes, floods and storms, and keeping everyone else in my thoughts.

In the midst of all of the stories about deadly weather, the economy, overseas wars, ‘birther’ madness and rising oil prices, this video of Gabrielle Giffords walking up the stairs to board a plane to Florida made me thankful for my health, but also for the amazing recovery she’s made after a tragic incident. It’s nice to have some positive news for a change.

Today I’m also thankful for:

  • Cute, comfortable flats — thanks Target!
  • Leftover Easter candy — or maybe I’m not thankful for that. So. Much. Chocolate.
  • A borrowed copy of Rosetta Stone so I can learn some Spanish before traveling to Nicaragua in July
  • 24/7 royal wedding coverage. I’ll be up in the wee hours of Friday morning. Will you?
  • A MacBook that refuses to die

Time to pound the pavement (literally) and find a new place to live. ‘House Hunters DC’ premieres tomorrow on Travel Eat Repeat. 😀

What are you thankful for this week?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 7:43 am

    Thank you for posting the Gabrielle Giffords link — that was truly heartwarming to watch.

    Good luck with your House Hunters today … I hope you find an apartment you love!!

    • April 28, 2011 7:54 am

      Isn’t it great? Such a bright spot in a somewhat-dark week.

      Thanks for your kind thoughts!

  2. April 28, 2011 8:05 am

    I hope the apt hunting leads you to a great apt. No more Bethesda? I think if I lived in the area, I’d want to live in DC too though.

    We got a borrowed copy of Rosetta Stone for our trip to Mexico in June. (That I’ve never mentioned on my blog now that I think of it.) I took 4 years of Spanish in hs and then 2 in college and I remember NOTHING!!

    • April 28, 2011 8:14 am

      I still *love* Bethesda but my job is moving downtown so for convenience, it’s easier to be in DC.

  3. April 28, 2011 8:55 am

    Good luck–apartment hunting is both fun and exhausting, as you say!

  4. April 28, 2011 9:52 am

    Cannot wait to hear all about your house hunting. I hope you find a good place to live! Wishing you lots of luck!

  5. Beth permalink
    April 28, 2011 10:03 am

    Good luck with the apt hunting! Let me know when it’s time to move!

Leave a Reply

