Skip to content

Sweet or Savory?

April 18, 2011

Most mornings, I crave a sweet breakfast.

Oatmeal.

Pancakes.

French toast.

For the past couple of days, I’ve woken up craving greens. Is my body trying to tell me something?! I gave in to the random morning craving with my own spin on huevos rancheros.

Salsa is great for any meal and any combination of flavors, especially this awesome Santa Barbara mango & peach salsa. The salsa went over two sunnyside-up eggs, wilted spinach, fresh green beans and a couple of mini corn tortillas.

If you always eat wheat tortillas, try the corn kind just once. I was amazed by the difference in flavor–in a good way.

Spinach, green beans and salsa may not be a conventional breakfast but it made me happy! Do you crave sweet or savory in the morning?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 7:56 am

    I crave a savory breakfast most mornings. I miss reading the Post in the mornings!

  2. April 18, 2011 10:29 am

    Smoothies for me!

  3. April 18, 2011 12:14 pm

    I normally crave sweet, too- but sometimes all I want is eggs!

  4. April 18, 2011 2:24 pm

    Savory for me! Give me bacon and eggs for breakfast and I’m a happy gal!
    Love the idea of pomegranate on the french toast. I should try that sometime.

  5. Kristin permalink
    April 18, 2011 8:10 pm

    Savory FOR SURE! I love oatmeal with only butter, salt and pepper! Or potatoes with green peppers and onions fried up. Or salsa on something. YUMMM. Also, when I was little I used to just wake up craving lunch. I usually ate leftovers from the previous night’s dinner for breakfast. ha!

    Corn tortillas are the best always. Flour ones taste so bland to me. When I spent a summer in Santa Barbara, California, once, I got so addicted to them, especially with fish tacos… Now I can’t have any other kind of tortilla or I get bored. 🙂

    • April 18, 2011 10:01 pm

      Savory oatmeal? I’m intrigued!

      • Kristin permalink
        April 19, 2011 6:46 pm

        Yep! Love my oatmeal savory. I mean, if you think about it, plain oatmeal with butter just tastes like bread and butter. 🙂 PB etc. in my oatmeal is okayyyyy…but I just can’t resist the smell of oatmeal with butter + S&P! Try it sometime!

  6. April 18, 2011 9:44 pm

    I crave sweets at any time of day, so I HAVE to have a sweet breakfast! I would definitely like this for dinner though 🙂

  7. April 19, 2011 11:09 am

    Me too! I’ve been eating salads with sunny side eggs for breakfast lately. I think its the change of seasons. I can’t bear the thought of a hot breakfast as its getting warmer.

Leave a Reply

