Skip to content

Easter Candy and Boozy Bunnies

April 12, 2011

If I’m being honest, my favorite thing about Easter is the Easter basket.

offthemarkcartoons.com

Waking up Easter morning as a child, I ran downstairs to see what treats the Easter Bunny had left and to track down hidden Easter eggs. It’s probably indicative of our natural personalities that my younger sister discovered an egg, then spent five minutes examining it before looking for another one, while I rushed through the house to collect as many Easter eggs as possible.

Fun fact #1: I spent last Easter weekend hiking New Zealand’s Tongariro Alpine Crossing.

Fun fact #2: When my family joined in for a week of travel Down Under for Easter 2010, my dad brought me a little Easter basket filled with sweet treats. You’re never too old for a plastic egg stuffed with mini Cadbury eggs.

Fun fact #2: The Clintons attended the same church as me when in Washington. Each Sunday, Secret Service searched purses and sent congregants through metal detectors. This meant that on Easter morning, when I arrived at church with a white patent leather purse stuffed full of Smarties, Starbursts and jelly beans, a Secret Service agent had to peek inside my bag.

My sweet tooth never turns down a new snack so when truffle truffle asked if I wanted to try their new Boozy Bunnies, I immediately said yes.

About the company:

Every item is hand made from scratch by founder, owner and pastry chef Nicole Greene from all-natural, chemical and preservative-free ingredients. It is this made-to-order production style that ensures all truffle truffle products are unrivaled in their authenticity, flavor and quality.

The four truffles come in flavors meant for adult palettes. While this might be a great gift for an adult in your life, please don’t put rum punch-flavored products in your child’s Easter basket. That’s just wrong. Seriously.

I had a hard time figuring out which flavor was which based on appearance. This candy-loving blogger doesn’t particularly love the taste of liquor so I was curious whether the taste would be overwhelming.

As I debated, the bunnies played in the grass.

It may be pre-dinner (and pre-Easter) but how can I know whether Boozy Bunnies are right for me without diving right in?

Yum.

A thick pillow of marshmallow was the first thing I tasted after breaking through the crunchy chocolate shell. I think this was pina colada flavor but couldn’t detect any hint of liquor–a good thing to my tastebuds but maybe not for a true liquor lover.

I’d definitely put a pack of Boozy Bunnies–an epic name for an adult candy–into a friend’s Easter basket for a sweet treat that’s anything but conventional. But will they replace my beloved Cadbury creme egg?

 

timleal.com

Not a chance.

What’s your favorite Easter candy? I could eat Cadbury eggs until I get sick–and have. 😳

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 5:56 pm

    Those look sooo good! UGH!

    Honestly I don’t like any of the holidays because they are now just temptations and reminders of old eating habits. I used to LOVE holidays because I’d buy butt-loads of candy and eat them till I was sick. Yuck. 😦

    • April 12, 2011 5:59 pm

      I definitely believe in moderation. If you can eat just one and be happy with that, I don’t see a problem with it. That’s something I definitely learned as an adult, *not* a kid!

  2. April 12, 2011 6:00 pm

    Very nice idea with the pictures in the grass. As much as I love fancy-pants chocolate, I have a nostalgic love of Reese’s peanut butter eggs.

    • April 12, 2011 6:03 pm

      Yum, I love those PB eggs, too. Reese’s is one of my (many) sweet spots. 😉

  3. April 12, 2011 7:13 pm

    I’m a HUGE Cadbury Creme egg person and have eaten them until sick. Also my church as a child gave out butter cream eggs covered in coconut. I was in charge of handing them out and took an extra peanut butter cream egg for my “hard work.”

    • April 13, 2011 7:11 am

      You totally deserved the treat — then and now!

  4. April 12, 2011 7:52 pm

    Cadbury eggs, definitely!

  5. Marie permalink
    April 12, 2011 8:15 pm

    Yep– I’m with you on the Cadbury eggs for sure. Made myself sick two nights ago, in fact.

  6. April 12, 2011 8:56 pm

    I love Cadbury eggs too, but I think I might might like Boozie Bunnies more 🙂

    • April 13, 2011 7:13 am

      If you want to have a true Boozy Christmas, you might want to wash these chocolates down with a shot. 😉

  7. April 13, 2011 2:04 am

    BOOZY BUNNIES?! Buying them right now! ha awesome pictures btw 🙂

  8. April 13, 2011 12:10 pm

    Cadbury eggs all the way!! My mom knows that I still need a Cadbury creme egg in my Easter basket! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

