Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

April 7, 2011

When spring begins to peek out and the cherry blossoms bloom in all their glory, is there anything else to be thankful for?

Just seeing this photo on my desktop makes me happy and thankful — cherry blossoms to the rescue!

Last night, I met some friends for dinner at the American Art Museum. ‘But Erin, what about your money fast?’ Don’t worry, I packed dinner ahead of time to be prepared.

We intended to eat in the beautiful Kogod Courtyard, which connects the American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery, but a fancy-schmancy business function kicked us out. Where to go? The steps, of course! I was thankful for warm evening sunlight than made it possible to sit on the cool stone steps to eat dinner, gossip and people-watch. It turns out there are a lot of interesting people walking up G Street around 7:00 pm. 😉

Being Washingtonians, we spent a lot of time talking about the possible government shutdown. I’m thankful to not be affected by the shutdown directly but indirectly, a shutdown would wreak havoc on museums and monuments being open, Metro schedules, even parking services.

I wouldn’t mind reduced traffic, though. I’d certainly be thankful for that!

What else am I thankful for this morning?

– Salted peanut butter. I was on an unsalted kick for a couple of years but lately Skippy Natural has been hitting the spot.

– An at-work gym. My evenings are suddenly wide-open and I love it… but miss my Fitness First classes. :/

– Travel plans? My year (yes, year) of being a retired nomad may be coming to an end within the next few months.

– Randomly running into people I know on the Metro.

– Upcoming volunteer events. I have a lot to be thankful for — now let’s help those in need.

What are you thankful for this week?


2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 7:45 pm

    Aww, I miss the Cherry Blossom festival! But I sure don’t miss my east coast allergies!

  2. April 8, 2011 4:57 pm

    I miss the cherry blossoms. Your pictures are lovely.

    Kudos on your money fast! What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

