Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

March 31, 2011

This morning is cold, grey and rainy. Perfect weather for remembering how much I have to be thankful for, starting with the basics like a roof over my head so I don’t have to be outside in the rain.

I’ve been a little blue this week, at least in part because of the grey weather. Did Mother Nature miss the memo that April starts tomorrow? Thankfully, a dinner with friends last night was the perfect mid-week pick-me-up. Nothing says ‘cheer up’ like homemade biscuit and two types of soup–pumpkin (made with coconut milk) and roasted vegetable–on a rainy evening.

From free art on Monday to a show at Wooley Mammoth Theatre tonight, I’m happy and thankful to have some art-y, fun distractions.

What else am I thankful for this week?

  • Raising money for the American Heart Association by participating in an at-work Zumbathon. A post is coming but this was a fun and easy way to help a great cause.
  • Cherry blossoms. I’m hoping to make it down to the Tidal Basin this weekend to see the blooms in all their glory but just on my street, dozens of trees are brightly-hued.
  • Some pretty epic soup-and-salad lunch combos that fuel me through the day.
  • A light sky when I drive to work in the morning, a light sky when I drive home. No more darkness.

What are you thankful for this week?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 7:35 am

    I am thankful for the cherry blossoms too! I hope to see them this weekend

  2. March 31, 2011 7:52 am

    Have you ever walked in Kenwood Forest (I think that’s what it’s called – off the Crescent Trail before you get to the bridge for River Rd) and looked at the Cherry Blossoms there? They are so pretty.

    • March 31, 2011 8:36 am

      Hmm.. I know the neighborhood you’re talking about but haven’t been there in ages. Maybe a nice weekend walk. Thanks!

  3. March 31, 2011 7:58 am

    I’m so jealous about all the cherry blossoms! I MUST come down to DC to see them all sometime!

  4. Beth Cron permalink
    March 31, 2011 9:15 pm

    I’m glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

