Skip to content

What Happened To Spring?

March 25, 2011

Last weekend was beautiful in Washington, DC.

Cherry blossoms were beginning to come into bloom — just in time for this weekend’s National Cherry Blossom Festival — and magnolia trees blossomed around the city, releasing their sweet fragrance into the air.

The average temperature for this time of year is 60* so imagine my shock to see this forecast for the upcoming weekend:

Snow?! Somehow I don’t think that when a bunch of bloggers signed up for Saturday’s National Marathon they were expecting freezing temps and a chance of snow. A chance of falling cherry blossoms, maybe. But not snow during the final week of March.

Come on, DC weather gods. We Washingtonians suffer through freezing, damp winters and sweltering, sticky summers for a few blissful weeks of spring. Don’t let us down. Bring us more of this:

And this:

And these:

My sundresses are unpacked and ready to be worn. Don’t make me leave them in the closet. Let’s start heating things up because every day that I put on a coat, scarf, gloves and a pair of pants, a part of me dies. And yes, this is a White Whine.

Fun Friday question: What is your favorite smell? It’s hard to top blossoming magnolias or–totally unrelated–fresh-baked cookies. Is there anything better than walking in the front door and smelling cookies right out of the oven? Yum.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 6:17 pm

    The flowers are beautiful! We have some pretty spring flowers poking up around Portland. We’re getting lots of rain mixed with sunshine. At least it’s not snowing!

  2. Marie permalink
    March 26, 2011 8:33 am

    Mmm yeah it’s a toss-up between flowers and fresh-baked cookies for me, too. Although I also love the smell of coffee brewing. And yes– this weather is terrible! Our plans for hiking Old Rag tomorrow have definitely been canceled. Oh, well. Have a great day though! At least the sun will be out some today 🙂

  3. March 26, 2011 9:35 am

    Oh, I LOVE the smell of blooming magnolias! My absolute favorite, though, is lilacs. I have a bush right under my window and I love to open it when the lilacs are in bloom and let the scent drift up 🙂 My other favorite is the ocean – there’s just nothing like it.

    I’m with you on this weather. Snow and temps in the thirties are just not okay anymore. Sigh. At least you have some trees starting to bloom, that should help 🙂 Send the blossoms a little farther north, okay?!

  4. March 26, 2011 5:14 pm

    We’re having the same weather here in MO; fortunately, it will be nice and spring-like by the end of next week! My favorite smell would have to be anything baking- cakes, pies, cookies, muffins. I love them all!

  5. The Teenage Taste permalink
    March 27, 2011 10:02 am

    I’d have to agree with you. Flowers are nice but so are cookies! The best part about smelling cookies is knowing that you’ll be able to eat them soon too! 😉
    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

