Skip to content

My First DC United Game

March 20, 2011

It might surprise you to know that I’m not an athletic person. I like to be active but don’t play sports and don’t even watch them, besides those four years of college when attending Maryland basketball and football games was actually a lot of fun.

Okay, maybe that doesn’t surprise you. 😉

Despite not being a sports person, I think I might be cut out to be a soccer fan. Hear me out.

1. Soccer games are outside. When Allie suggested going to a DC United game as a fun activity for her birthday, the first thing I did was check the weather. 50 degrees? Let’s do it.

2. Soccer players are cute. Football (American football, that is) players are big and burly. Basketball players are too tall. Hockey — eek, let’s not even discuss hockey players. But in the Goldilocks world of sports, soccer players are just right.

I’ll go ahead and confess that my main crush was the opposing team’s goalie, William Hesmer.

megasportsnews.com

DC United doesn’t do too badly in the cute soccer player category, either. We realized that pretty early on.

3. Better stadium food. RFK Stadium boasts both the world’s biggest gummy bear — you’d better believe I was trying to convince someone to buy it — and Mexican food made on the spot.

I stayed away from the $25 gummy bear and opted for pupusas with cheese. They tasted great — I saw the woman make them so knew they hadn’t been sitting on a warming tray for hours — but sat in my stomach like lead for the next few hours. When is some genius going to open a salad or sandwich shop at the stadium? It would do killer business.

4. Soccer brings people together, whether explaining the intricacies of the game

or just catching up on girl chat.

5. And then there are the DC United fans…

Rowdy and energetic but not as insane as, say, Maryland post-game rioters.

gazette.net

Once you’ve been part of a post-game celebration that ends with the SWAT team and horses chasing students down the street or a street riot that nearly overturns a bus, everything else seems tame in comparison. Oh, Maryland…

6. But the best thing about soccer? Honestly? It’s short. 90 minutes plus a short half-time and a little stoppage time means you can be in and out within two hours. Any longer than that and I’m bored.

DC United, you have a new fan. I’d been to soccer games abroad before, including a memorable North vs. South Korea match that ended with Kim Jong-Il accusing South Korea of giving his players food poisoning, but this was my first MLS game and supporting my home team was exciting.

Yes, I’ll be back at RFK Stadium to cheer on the team… and to continue suffering from a serious case of camera envy.

Have you ever been to a professional soccer game? I actually enjoy watching soccer on TV more than other sports but it was my first in-person MLS match.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 6:21 pm

    I have never been to a pro soccer game but I like the idea that its short- I really like short anything, I don’t like wasting hours on anything really haha.

    I do like American football players though 🙂 I might be a little bias.

  2. March 20, 2011 7:29 pm

    I’ve never been to a pro soccer game (or watched one on TV for that matter). I bet it would be fun, though… seeing sports live is so much better than watching on TV, and it doesn’t hurt that it’s nice and short!

  3. Marie permalink
    March 20, 2011 9:08 pm

    Again- jealous! So much fun. Did you know that was Charlie Davies’ first match since a terrible car accident he was in sidelined him for about a year? He kicked some serious butt! Chris and I watch soccer on TV often, but I have been to one game– DC United v. LA Galaxy back in summer ’09. It was way more fun in person! 🙂 Glad you had a good time!

  4. March 20, 2011 10:50 pm

    Haha, Agreeeed to Point #2 .. and how could I have missed the world’s largest gummy bear?!??

    Great post chica ❤

  5. March 21, 2011 7:31 am

    I’ve never been to any soccer games, professional or otherwise. Sporting events can be so much fun, though! Especially the food. 🙂

  6. March 21, 2011 8:35 am

    How fun-look how big that stadium is!

  7. March 21, 2011 11:27 am

    The DC United game looks like it was lots of fun! I’ve lived in this city for 6+ years and still haven’t been to RFK stadium. That needs to change!

    I 100% agree about the hotness of soccer players. They have the best bodies, hands down. :-p

    World’s Largest Gummy Bear?! Hahaha…Do you know how big it is? For $25, it better be HUGE! I’d love to watch someone try to eat it!

  8. March 21, 2011 12:55 pm

    the world cup last year got me totally hooked on soccer. i really want to go to a dc united game! i ditto your comments on the looks of soccer boys and the dire need for a salad/sandwich vendor at sporting events!

  9. March 21, 2011 7:25 pm

    I love soccer players, but I’ve never been to a DC United game. It looks like so much fun! And I’m with you on the two hour attention span!

Leave a Reply

