Skip to content

Water Or Soda?

March 19, 2011
tags: ,

I certainly slept easier last night knowing there wasn’t a murderer wandering around my neighborhood. (Bethesda Lululemon murder update from The Washington Post.) Restaurant business in the area was down 50% since last Friday’s slaying so I’m sure local stores and eateries are relieved and hoping things get back to normal soon.

What I really want to talk about this morning, however, is water. Specifically, this:

Earlier this week, I blogged about my soda swaps after giving up soda for Lent. A few people suggested sparkling water as a way to get the fizz of soda and so I picked up a few bottles at Wegmans mid-week.

Drinking my delicious fizzy water yesterday — tangerine lime is amazing! — I was struck by two things.

One: what the heck is diet water?

Two: is ‘sparkling beverage’ a code for ‘soda’?

After all, check out these ingredients:

Pretty similar to Diet Coke, right?

Carbonated water, citric acid, aspartame — all three are in both beverages. It was only while drinking that I noticed the word ‘water’ isn’t even on the bottle!

I decided to ask my Twitter followers what they thought. Responses about whether this counts as soda ranged from ‘only if it has HFCS’ to ‘not if it is alcoholic.’

And so I’m turning to you. Is ‘sparkling beverage’ soda? Have I totally (but unintentionally) failed at Lent?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 9:31 am

    I think unsweetened sparkling water isn’t cheating! But throw in the sugar or artificial sweetener, and it’s largely the same makeup as soda. I drink (unsweetened) club soda all the time and find it very refreshing! (PS. Looooove Wegman’s!)

  2. March 19, 2011 9:35 am

    I’m with Chase…it’s the addition of sweetener that makes soda for me. I love the lime or lemon/lime versions for a pick me up.

  3. March 19, 2011 10:08 am

    The Lululemon stuff is so crazy! Has the woman confessed? Obviously this is not breaking news around here like it is there.

    I think that the aspartame makes it soda-like. Have you tried Vitamin Water Zero? That’s sweetened with Truvia. Try the lemonade flavor – it’s the best one.

  4. March 19, 2011 10:55 am

    Ooh that’s a hard one….I’m not sure! I switched to sparkling water with lime because I just feel better drinking it. I don’t think it has any chemicals in it. Guess I should check… 🙂

  5. March 19, 2011 11:44 am

    I drink a lot of sparkling flavored water from Trader Joe’s, It has no funky ingredients or added sweetener, and it satisfies my craving for a Diet Coke most of the time 🙂

  6. March 20, 2011 8:05 am

    hmmm…what a good point and interesting question! I never really thought about this but am now really curious! Let us know what you figure out!

  7. March 21, 2011 7:29 pm

    There are flavored seltzers that have no sweeteners. I would say they are much less soft-drinky and still delicious!

Leave a Reply

