Skip to content

A Great Veggie Burger At Old Georgetown Grille

March 5, 2011

Restaurants can surprise you.

Old Georgetown Grille — the menu says ‘Grill’ but every other reference, including the outside sign, is ‘Grille’ — is a Bethesda institution. Despite walking by a million-and-a-half times and living just a few blocks away, I’d never actually gone in. Open for breakfast and lunch, the grill is a casual American diner, the type rarely seen in this upscale area. It’s the kind of place that serves breakfast all day and keeps your basic condiments in a bucket on the table.

While ordering eggs or a sandwich seemed like the easy, safe choice, the veggie burger and fries was calling my name. I didn’t have high hopes, expecting a reheated Boca burger with onion and lettuce, because how often do you order a veggie burger and get something homemade?

You do at Old Georgetown Grille.

The burger was barely processed and filled with whole pieces of edamame, carrots and peas. Rather than a bland soy protein base, the burger’s ‘meat’ seemed to come from blended beans.

As for the fries, I shared a few but otherwise devoured the plate with several heavy shakes of ketchup. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, just the way good fries should be. (Side note: I’m reading Bill Bryson’s latest book, At Home: A Short History of Private Life, and learned that Thomas Jefferson introduced French fries to the U.S. Who knew?!)

Great vegetarian options can be found anywhere if you look hard enough, from a vegan menu at Founding Farmers to Baugher’s, a country restaurant known for its plus-size, meat-heavy entrees that also serves up an awesome vegetable wrap. Even at an Indiana restaurant with all-you-can-eat barbecue, I got the incredulous waitress to bring a sampling of vegetarian side dishes in lieu of a ‘real’ meal. Vegetarian dining success.

So don’t discount casual diners. After all, you never know when a veggie burger will surprise you.

What’s your favorite veggie burger recipe? I can’t imagine anything better than Angela’s In A Jiffy Curry Chickpea Burgers. Yum!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 8:51 am

    I’ve been there once, many years ago. I don’t remember what I got or if I liked it.

  2. Kristin permalink
    March 6, 2011 2:07 pm

    YAYYYYYYYYYY!!!! You’re finally reading “At Home.” You have to let us know if you love it (I can’t imagine you wouldn’t). I kept finding myself wanting to remember so many different facts that I knew I would forget, and so I think I will have to read it a second time at some point. I loved the part about how we randomly decided on salt and pepper for our table-top constants. Gotta love Billy Bry 🙂

    • March 6, 2011 9:07 pm

      I’m loving it so far — absolutely fascinating!

  3. March 7, 2011 3:09 pm

    Kinda looks like a Dr. Praeger’s burger which I recently discovered at Trader Joes. They’re yummy!

    • HoakieBS permalink
      July 20, 2012 12:12 pm

      They have them at Costco too (IIRC, it could be Sam;s) about $10 for 12 or 16 but they are BIG!

  4. HoakieBS permalink
    July 20, 2012 12:19 pm

    My favorite vegan burger recipe can be found at http://www.thevegankitchen.net and it’s called a Beet burger (I know you’re thinking, “Only Dwight Schrute could think of such a thing” but they are AWESOME, and I’m not even a vegetarian, my wife is. I made them to please her, but she said they reminded her too much of meat, so she doesn’t like them. If you try it, you will not be disappointed. If your SO is a meat eater, he may not know the difference. They are made from lentils, brown rice, beets, bread crumbs peanut butter. Who’dathunkit?

Leave a Reply

