Skip to content

Comfort Me With Lemon-Blueberry Scones

February 20, 2011

This hasn’t been a typical Travel, Eat, Repeat weekend. My usual Saturday-Sunday includes at least one brunch, a cultural activity or two and plenty of random adventures.

Almost every minute of this weekend was spent packing and moving carloads of stuff to temporary climate-controlled storage (aka my mom’s basement πŸ˜‰ ). Finally this afternoon, I was ready for a break and rewarded myself with some cafe time. Nothing but me, a latte and Ruth Reichl.

I read her memoir Tender at the Bone last year but Comfort Me With Apples is even better. Before I knew it, the sky was getting dark and I was just pages away from the ending — did I mention I just picked up the book this morning?! It was that good. Reichl writes about food like she’s writing a novel. It’s almost as good as eating the food yourself… almost.

I read most of Comfort Me With Apples at Caribou Coffee, taking advantage of comfortable leather chairs and non-intrusive background music. Although I visit a lot of coffee shops and cafes, I rarely order anything besides drinks unless it’s mealtime. Cafe snacks are usually expensive and unhealthy but today, the lemon-blueberry scones were calling my name. When a scone wants your attention, it can be very persuasive.

Light lemon, tart blueberries and a creamy, sweet icing on top. Total scone heaven. Can I recreate these ASAP, please?

Spending literally the entire afternoon absorbed in a book hasn’t happened in a long time but it was a perfect way to spend this sunny, crisp Sunday. I’m lucky to have tomorrow off for Presidents Day and fun excursions are planned with friends, but it was lovely to spend today hanging out with Ruth. πŸ˜€

What did you do today? Have you read any can’t-put-down books lately?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 7:01 pm

    I need to find a good book. I’ve been trying to get through Cutting Through Stone, which everyone raves about, forever and I just can’t get into it.

    • February 20, 2011 8:13 pm

      I couldn’t get into it either! Quit after the first 30 or so pages…

  2. February 20, 2011 8:12 pm

    That scone does look pretty persuasive πŸ˜‰ And today I shadowed around a physician assistant around for health care experience. πŸ™‚

  3. February 20, 2011 10:50 pm

    Oh yes on that scone. I’ve read all of Reichl’s books – Garlic and Sapphires is my favorite – much better than Cutting for Stone (I think you have to be in the medical field to appreciate that one).

    • February 21, 2011 7:06 pm

      You’re right, Garlic and Sapphires is fantastic.

  4. February 21, 2011 8:53 am

    I’m in the middle of Sarah Pekkanen’s Skipping a Beat right now and am absolutely LOVING it. Her writing style is so fluid and the story itself is just captivating πŸ™‚

    • February 21, 2011 7:06 pm

      You always have great book recc’s — thanks!

      • February 21, 2011 9:01 pm

        Anytime!

        I’m pretty sure she’s local to your area, too. She mentioned a release day book signing in Bethesda tomorrow. If it weren’t for the snow, I’d be tempted to hop a train and go!

  5. February 21, 2011 9:37 am

    That sounds like a really good book. It’s been forever since I read a book in a day or two, so now that I’m on vacation I’m attempting to do that. I’m reading Alone by Lisa Gardner… I had taken a serious break from mystery novels but they are the best for “can’t put down” reading cuz I always wanna know what happens in the end!

  6. Beth permalink
    February 21, 2011 6:49 pm

    I really enjoyed that book too! I’ll have to check out her other ones. I’ve been told to check out “my life in france” by Julia Child.

    • February 21, 2011 7:04 pm

      ‘My Life In France’ will make you want to pack a suitcase and hop on the next plane to France, where you’ll eat your way around the country. Amazing book.

Leave a Reply

