Skip to content

The Best Saturday Breakfast

February 19, 2011

Good morning! Sorry to miss out on posting yesterday but the day slipped away from me between trying to squeeze every last minute out of a 70*+ day as possible and spending the rest of the evening glued to my computer on websites like apartments.com and Craigslist.

Since no one wants to hear me complain about apartment-hunting — I don’t even want to hear myself complain about apartment-hunting — let’s talk about breakfast instead. Specifically, Saturday breakfast.

pumpkin pancakes

During the week, fast and easy breakfasts reign. This week, I’ve been trying to eat out the refrigerator and pantry before moving, which means breakfast has meant eating anything perishable. Picture lots of Chobani-Cheerios-peanut flour peanut butter mixes.

Sunday breakfasts alternate between relaxation and rush, all depending on which church service I’m attending and what else is going on that day.

But there’s almost always time for a leisurely breakfast on Saturday. The kind of breakfast that includes several cups of coffee and quality time with The Washington Post. It’s the day to use produce on its last legs before restocking at the grocery store and farmer’s market.

apple spice oat cakes

Saturday is the morning to make pancakes from scratch instead of a mix, simply because it only takes a minute more but tastes a million times better.

I tend to eat more indulgent breakfasts on Saturdays. French toast, anyone?

Bigger breakfasts mean more fuel and energy for the day ahead. Eat up!

blackberry-and-pomegranate french toast

Sometimes I see bloggers come up with amazing breakfast souffles and freshly-baked breakfast bars but while a Saturday breakfast can take a little more time than a weekday breakfast, I still wake up ready to eat. No waiting around 40 minutes while something cooks for this blogger!

This morning I fueled with whole-wheat raisin pancakes drizzled with blueberry syrup. It was hot, tasty, filling and just what I needed to face an entire day of packing and organizing ahead.

Do you eat different breakfasts on weekends than weekdays? Sunday is almost always a brunch day so Saturday is my one real weekend breakfast.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 10:25 am

    I think pancakes and french toast are tied for the two best weekend breakfasts ever!

  2. February 19, 2011 10:51 am

    I have this problem where I’m starving right when I wake up, so I always make something quick, even on the weekends. Then I get jealous of people that have things like pancakes or French toast.

  3. February 19, 2011 8:16 pm

    Yum I love those pumpkin pancakes. And I eat the same on the weekends since I love having oats everyday 😀

  4. February 19, 2011 10:41 pm

    I tend to have more indulgent breakfasts on the weekends- bring on the pancakes!

  5. February 21, 2011 4:06 pm

    I made pumpkin waffles for the first time on Sunday and had the leftovers for breakfast this morning with a Green Monster. Yum! That waffle maker is the best $5 I’ve spent in a while. (garage sale)

Trackbacks

  1. Very Berry French Toast « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

