Skip to content

How To Make Peanut Butter From Peanut Flour

February 16, 2011

There’s nothing like waking up on Hump Day to discover you’re out of peanut butter. What’s a PB-loving gal to do?

Enter: peanut flour.

You might have heard that Trader Joe’s recently discontinued its peanut flour but I’ve had this bag in the pantry for months. Besides adding a few spoonfuls to smoothies, I really wasn’t sure what to do with it.

This morning, though, my first thought was, ‘Can I somehow turn peanut flour into peanut butter?’ After all, it’s the same basic product and check out these awesome nutritional stats (for 1/4 cup):

Two tablespoons = 8 grams of protein. Now that is how you want to start the day.

Peanut flour looks like like, well, flour!

But how to make it into peanut butter? A quick search led me to Emily‘s post comparing different brands of peanut flour. She advised adding water (until the mixture reaches desired consistency) and a pinch of salt to the dry peanut flour to give it a smooth texture and peanut butter-y taste.

The result? Well, it doesn’t taste exactly like peanut butter but it certainly works to transform a boring bowl of oatmeal

into something much more delicious. That added protein doesn’t hurt, either.

I took to Twitter to find out whether I can make a batch of peanut flour peanut butter (try saying that three times fast!) ahead of time to keep in the fridge and Emily responded that it’s probably best to make only what you need.

How does PFPB stack up against real peanut butter? The taste can’t compare on its own and it’s certainly not something I’d eat straight off the spoon. But as an oatmeal mix-in or PB&J spread, PFPB is a great substitute. It’s a little more time-consuming than scooping from the jar but for at least the next few days, PFPB may be my go-to source of protein and peanut butter-y goodness.

Have you tried peanut flour?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 6:30 pm

    Interesting, looks amazing!

  2. February 16, 2011 6:59 pm

    Great idea. I’m bummed I didn’t get to try TJ’s PB flour before it was discontinued!

    • February 16, 2011 7:28 pm

      It disappeared from the shelves fast, at least in my area!

  3. February 16, 2011 8:01 pm

    Love that we both had PB on the brain! And I love making peanut butter this way, too. I agree, it sort of doesn’t compare, but it’s good in its own right. I like a sprinkle of cinnamon in mine!

    • February 16, 2011 8:11 pm

      Ooh, love the idea of adding cinnamon. Will try that tomorrow!

  4. February 16, 2011 8:52 pm

    I like it in things but not so much as a pb sub. For the record, I don’t really like PB2 that much either.

  5. February 17, 2011 8:43 am

    I love eating peanut flour rehydrated as a peanut butter replacement (I think I actually prefer it now), and also love stirring it into plain yogurt. I think that the distributer for the TJ’s peanut flour was this company: http://www.netrition.com/protein_plus_peanut_flour.html

    I checked out the packaging and nutrition stats and it looks very similar. Now to order some and do a taste test.

  6. Molly permalink
    April 6, 2011 8:27 pm

    I have never tried peanut flour. Do you think I could make almond butter from almond flour
    (meal) and water?

    • April 6, 2011 8:49 pm

      Hmm… I don’t know! I’d love for you to try it out and let me know, though. I ❤ peanut flour (sadly discontinued at Trader Joe's).

  7. Annie permalink
    October 17, 2012 7:13 am

    This reminds me a LOT of pb2 !

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. The Best Saturday Breakfast « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Diy pb2 - Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding

Leave a Reply

