Skip to content

Brunch at Rosemary’s Thyme

February 12, 2011

It went from cloudy and cool to sunny and warm-ish today. Gorgeous!

I’m trying to break out of my restaurant rut and try new places. That’s when Yelp comes in handy! After doing a quick search for breakfast spots in the Dupont Circle area, I discovered Rosemary’s Thyme.

Zoe and I had a belated birthday brunch this morning and it was fantastic to catch up one-on-one. She’s one of the only people who loves food and travel as much as I do. To start, the server brought out incredible rosemary-infused bread with butter and strawberry jam.

So tasty.

Rosemary’s Thyme has a range of traditional brunch choices and also some Turkish specialties. Zoe tried the Turkish omelet, while I went for the Mediterranean omelet (feta, tomatoes, peppers and mushrooms).

When in Greece, er, Turkey, you’ve gotta order feta. Feta makes it bettah! The fruit cup on the side was a little lackluster but the home fries were incredible — perfectly seasoned.

Over brunch, Zoe mentioned her plan to go back to Greece next fall to visit family and wondered if I was interested in going. Sign me up! Wasn’t I just saying this morning that I wanted to visit Greece? Nothing is definite but it’s at least a fun conversation to have and something to keep in mind.

After brunch, we walked down to Farragut North where I intended to get a bus to the Kennedy Center. I ended up being really early and decided to walk the mile to the theatre instead of taking the bus. It was perfect weather for strolling outside and before I knew it, I was walking into the Kennedy Center.

This is one of the best places in DC to see live theatre and certainly the most gorgeous.

You don’t have to pay a lot of money to see shows at the Kennedy Center. Many discount tickets, including $10 student tickets, are offered and every night at 6:00, Millennium Stage shows free performances. Dance, singing, puppets — you name it, Millennium Stage shows it.

Theatre for everyone!

I was at the Kennedy Center to see The Cripple of Inishmaan, presented by Irish theatre company Druid. The show was hilarious and filled with typical Irish dark humor. When I wasn’t laughing, I was yearning to go back to Ireland. I briefly visited Dublin in November 2007 while studying abroad in London and completely fell in love with the country.

It was rainy and cold — November is not the best time to visit Ireland — but I loved every minute.

Have you been to Ireland? Do you go to the theatre often? My favorite class ever was a theatre class in London. We went to the theatre at least once a week, sometimes two or three times. It was the best semester ever!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 7:16 pm

    I’m going to Ireland in July! We’re in the process of planning the trip. Any suggestions? We’re wide open and really excited to start picking out our must see spots!

    • February 12, 2011 7:26 pm

      I was only in Ireland for a weekend on a break from school in London so I didn’t get to see much of the country, sadly. We did visit Glendalough, which has some incredible Medieval structures. In Dublin, the Guinness Factory is the top tourist attraction and expensive but actually pretty interesting. The restaurant there is good too, actually. Everyone says the Ring of Kerry is the place to go so if that’s not already on your list, check it out. 🙂

      Wish I had more recommendations!

    • Kristin permalink
      February 13, 2011 9:23 pm

      I went to Cork and LOVED it — never been to Dublin, though. Cork is a little seaside down and very close to lots of beautiful, green areas for walking.

  2. February 13, 2011 7:24 am

    I desperately want to go to Ireland, but I haven’t been yet. Of course, I could say the same thing about the Kennedy Center and I’ve lived in DC for 5 years. Sheesh.

  3. February 13, 2011 7:53 am

    I’ve been to Ireland twice and we drove all around the country- it’s gorgeous. Part of me wants to go back even though there are SO many other places in the world I want to visit haha. Never enough time and money for all the travel 🙂

  4. February 13, 2011 4:26 pm

    I took a two week English Lit seminar course in Ireland one summer when I was in college, and loved it! I’d like to go back with more free time though (and not have to devote every spare minute to Yeats!).

  5. February 13, 2011 4:33 pm

    I’d love to go to Ireland but haven’t been yet!

    I have spent some time in England.

    I loved Turkey – and you’re right feta is a compulsory addition to any meal.

  6. February 13, 2011 8:32 pm

    OMG, that Mediterranean omelet sounds divine! Those are my favorite omelet fillings: mushrooms, tomatoes, peppers and cheese! I imagine the Feta is a nice, different touch.

    I have never been to Ireland, but I would love to visit someday. And, you know, some of my best trips with friends have started because of random, not-so-serious conversations, so Greece sounds like an awesome possibility!

    I don’t go to theater as often as I would like, but I have seen a few musicals and a couple plays and more than a few ballets. 🙂

  7. Kristin permalink
    February 13, 2011 9:25 pm

    HOW WEIRD — when I studied abroad in London, I took a theater class, too (Shakespeare), and we went to a Shakespeare play every Monday night of the whole semester. We saw plays everywhere from the Royal Theatre and the Globe to the tiniest little pubs. It was awesome!!!

    • February 13, 2011 9:29 pm

      Isn’t that the best? I would LOVE the opportunity to go to the theatre once a week these days. Sounds like an awesome class. We went to Shakespeare at the Globe and stood among the groundlings. Very unique experience!

  8. February 23, 2011 11:59 pm

    Hi,
    I just discovered your blog and i love it!
    I spend 3 weeks in Ireland last summer and I really fell in love with the place 🙂
    I don’t know if you’ve notice the victorian style doors, coloful and different from all the doors I had seen!
    It is such a great place. I would definately go back.

Trackbacks

  1. Greece, Turkey, Ireland In One Day « Travel Eat Repeat | Honeymoon Across Europe
  2. Travel » Blog Archive » Greece, Turkey, Ireland In One Day « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Tweets that mention Greece, Turkey, Ireland In One Day « Travel Eat Repeat -- Topsy.com
  4. Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

