Skip to content

The Best From Spam

February 11, 2011

Spam is a popular, extravagant gift in Korea. Large stores like E-Mart (think Target) carried huge Spam gift sets, enough to last any serious Spam lover a couple of months.

 

travelhappy.info

There may have been only one row of bread and two boxes of pasta, but there was an entire Spam shelf in my Korean grocery store.

 

crheaney.blogspot.com

We’re not talking about that kind of Spam, though. We’re talking this spam:

 

fromthe2one5ive.wordpress.com

Specifically, spam comments. If you write a blog, you know what I’m talking about. For every dozen or so genuine comments, a sneaky little spam comment sneaks through. If you use WordPress, as I do, the Akismet spam filter should catch most of these messages and weed them out but this morning I got a Tweet from Alexia saying that her comment had gone into the spam folder.

Eek! When I checked the spam folder (something I never do, bad blogger!) I realized there were several real comments buried among the ads and bot-generated pingbacks.

I’m sorry! I’ll try to do a better job monitoring the spam folder in the future. 😳

Digging through spam, though, I stumbled onto some interesting comments. Personally, I like the ones that use flattery to get your attention:

  • I would like to get across my gratitude for your kindness in support of men and women who really want guidance on this one topic. Your special dedication to getting the message all-around turned out to be definitely functional and has continually made women just like me to attain their dreams. The warm and friendly advice denotes much a person like me and still more to my office workers. Regards; from everyone of us.

How do you ignore something like that? 😉

Then there was this gem of advice left on my About Me page:

  • Silence is a woman’s best garment.

Note taken.

While I of course believe the spammers (oops, I’m sorry, commenters) who tell me this is the greatest website ever and leave helpful advice, I’m really most excited to win a few million pounds every now and then. Nothing says ‘Good morning!’ like an extra £5,000,000 in your inbox. Better start shopping!

Please let me know if you see your comments get sorted into spam. I’m working to sort out this issue. Now… what are you up to this weekend?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 8:20 am

    Lol…funny. Yeah, I love the formality of some of those spam comments…the ones that use flattery are always most appealing! 🙂

  2. February 11, 2011 8:25 am

    I used to get a ton of spam and hated sorting through it to find real comments (but loved all the funny ones). My host keeps turing commenting off on my blog (every week to two weeks), which really upsets me, but the last time they did it, I just left comments off on all of my old blogs and now I have a lot less spam!

  3. February 11, 2011 12:54 pm

    I’ve been having issues with all my comments going to spam too! So I checked out my spam folder and found 6 NOT spam comments!

  4. February 11, 2011 1:17 pm

    Oomph…spam. Gross!!!

  5. Marie permalink
    February 11, 2011 6:33 pm

    Haha all that food spam is hilarious… and gross. I love the spam comments I get, but some of them sneak through Askimet, which is irritating. The “Wow you really wrote a great post, this is the best post I have ever read on this topic, thank you for your dedication to this topic!” spam comments are always funny. That makes me think of this one from YHL: http://www.younghouselove.com/2010/10/best-spam-comment-ever/

    hehe.

  6. February 12, 2011 1:10 pm

    If you find that your comments are going to spam, email akismet and they’ll fix it. On wordpress blogs, if a bloggers comment goes to spam on one blog, it’ll go to spam on another. This happened to me recently. But they’ll fix it.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Best From Spam « Travel Eat Repeat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

