Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

February 10, 2011

This week has been crazy busy! I got home at 10 last night, then woke up this morning and noticed there was a lot of sun shining for 6:15 — oh no, wait, it’s 7:00!

Yep, my alarm clock didn’t go off. It could have been tragic but thankfully I always give myself an extra half-hour in the morning to enjoy a sit-down breakfast while blogging so oversleeping just meant grabbing a quick bowl of cereal and running out the door. It could have been worse but I was still a bit disoriented all day today.

Now I’m home for a brief hour to make a batch of cornbread before heading to a friend’s Adams Morgan apartment for dinner. I would say that I’m ready for the weekend except that is also jammed start-to-finish with activities. When did February become such a social month?! πŸ˜‰ Still, I’m thankful to have too many plans than nothing to do.

Can I tell you something totally random I’m thankful for today? Eggs.

The one night this week I was home for dinner, I was craving something hot and fast. Enter: a quick egg salad. (Not egg-salad — blech!)

I can go months without buying eggs and then the craving hits and hits hard. This dinner is easy, healthy and fast. Two eggs over-easy, served on top of spinach with a side of carrots and an Arnold sandwich thin smeared with Laughing Cow.

In fact, before I over-slept this morning, I was massively cravings eggs and toast for breakfast. Guess that will have to wait until tomorrow! I’m thankful to have the resources and knowledge to buy organic, cage-free and (when possible) local eggs. It makes a huge taste difference when your chickens led a happy life. πŸ™‚

This week has been freezing and so along with three hot meals a day, I’m also thankful for working heat, warm clothes and a desk job. I drive by a construction site every day and can’t imagine working outdoors in the cold. Brrrr!

The idea of moving and finding a new apartment quickly was a major stress so being able to live with my dad for a month tops my thankful list. I’m looking forward to having a place to call my own but also happy to live close to family willing to take me in. It was either that or a cardboard box on Wisconsin Ave. πŸ˜‰

Today at work, we made Valentine’s Day cards for seniors who receive Meals on Wheels. For many of these senior citizens, receiving meals is the only human interaction they get day-to-day. It made me thankful to do something good for someone else. I hope a Valentine’s Day card brightens someone’s day!

On a shallower note… ‘Glee’ is back and I’m oh-so thankful! More singing and dancing, more high school drama, more ridiculously contrived storylines that somehow keep me hooked every single episode! πŸ˜€

*ding!* Cornbread’s done! Better pop that out of the oven and get moving because I won’t be thankful if it burns.

What are you thankful for this week? Has February been crazy-busy for you, too?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 6:18 pm

    Aww, how sweet is the Valentine’s Day project? I bet those cards will make so many days brighter and warmer πŸ™‚

  2. February 10, 2011 9:29 pm

    Yum, I can (and usually do) eat eggs for dinner every night!

    And I am super thankful for Glee returning, and especially for posting episodes online so I don’t have to stay up late after the superbowl to watch πŸ™‚

  3. February 10, 2011 11:03 pm

    Mmm, eggs! I came home from work today to find I had left my carton of eggs out since breakfast… I’m kind of sad about that.

    I’m thankful to have a mom who gives awesome advice whenever I need it. She’s the best πŸ™‚

  4. February 11, 2011 12:35 am

    I feel ya. Recently, I’ve been craving eggs SO BADLY. It’s already painful that in a couple days I’m staying off dairy/eggs for a while to see it’s if hormonal why I’m STILL breaking out. *SOB*

  5. February 11, 2011 11:37 am

    I am loving eggs right now, too! Mostly because I’m on Weight Watchers so I can have an egg white omelet (with maybe one yolk) with veggies that will fill me up but not be a lot of points. Plus, they’re delicious!

Leave a Reply

