Skip to content

Rest Easy

February 4, 2011

Psst… you have until noon to win a case of Chobani on Twitter <– enter here!

Happy Friday! Do you have fun weekend plans? One of my best friends is celebrating her birthday tonight at a fun boutique and tomorrow is a DC blogger meet-up so I’m definitely looking forward to the next 48 hours.

Over the past week, I’ve felt exhausted from morning until night. It’s like weights are sitting on my eyes and although I’m not physically tired, I can’t quite seem to shake this overall fatigue. I’m getting my usual 7.5-8 hours of sleep and eating the same foods as always, so I’m hoping it’s just one of those things that shakes itself out soon. Too much clouds and not enough sun! 😀

I was able to rest a little easier last night after deciding to move in with my dad and his family for the month of March. It gives me more time to find a place I truly like, not a place that I can tolerate. Several apartment buildings have openings in April but nothing in March, so this seems like a smart choice.

Whew!

Since we’re now counting down the weeks until moving day, my roommate is trying to sell everything on Craigslist.

cartoonstock.com

This means coming home last night and realizing the shelves in our kitchen were gone, then waking up this morning to find the microwave missing. How’s a lazy girl supposed to make oatmeal without a microwave?!

Now I see what all the hype is about stovetop oats and how they are far superior to microwave oats. The mixture becomes much creamier on the stove and the bananas break down more completely as they are whipped into the oats.

Lazy girl? Yes. But I don’t know if I can go back to microwave oats after this!

At least I can rest easy knowing that the next month will not be oats-free. 😉  Although I’ll likely be eating those oats on the floor since I’m half-expecting to walk in the door tonight and find the kitchen table and couch gone. No joke.

Do you make your oatmeal on the stove or in the microwave? I like the quick, one-bowl cleanup of microwave oats but stovetop oats are much tastier. I’m glad fellow bloggers understand this conversation because non-bloggers would probably think it strange to have an entire debate about the merits of microwave vs. stovetop oatmeal. 😀

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    February 4, 2011 8:41 am

    Stove. Every time. Only takes about five minutes and it’s so much better. One of the great things about teleworking is that now I have time for steel-cut oats two days a week.

  2. February 4, 2011 9:14 am

    So are you staying in Bethesda or moving closer to work?

    • February 4, 2011 10:45 am

      95% sure staying in Bethesda. Such an amazing neighborhood!

  3. February 4, 2011 10:03 am

    Craig’s List is such an amazing place to get rid of stuff you no longer want/need! Good luck with the move.

  4. February 4, 2011 1:32 pm

    The stovetop oats were incredible!!!! Tasted like a completely different cereal!

  5. simonelk permalink
    February 4, 2011 2:57 pm

    move to DC!!

  6. February 4, 2011 10:48 pm

    I usually have quick oats, but I am thinking that the steel cut ones are better for me 🙂

  7. February 5, 2011 6:20 pm

    Hopefully you have enough left in your apartment to actually live for the next few weeks!

    Stovetop oats are definitely better in general, but I think I’ve perfected microwave oats for when I make them at work.

Leave a Reply

