Skip to content

What Is The Internet?

January 29, 2011

Ah, remember a more innocent time before the Internet claimed every moment of your waking life?

I’m sure Katie Couric would like to forget that haircut… 😉

Yes, friends, there was a day and age oh so many years ago — we’re talking 1994, people — when not every person was online. And if you were online, the odds are that my employer helped you log on.

It’s kind of funny that I remember receiving AOL CDs in the mail as a kid and now I work there. We haven’t sent out CDs in a long time but some have been repurposed in creative ways.

Maybe this is the answer to my furniture dilemma! 😉

Thanks to everyone who has already sent in leads about possible buildings in the DC area. There are a couple I’m really excited to learn more about. Power finally was restored to my current apartment this afternoon. When I went by this morning — I’ve been staying at my mom’s house to take advantage of little things like heat, Internet and hot water — this lovely note was on the front door.

Just what you want to see.

Inside, management had set up some lamps in the halls.

Going up the stairs was pretty creepy, though.

The building is L-shaped and the only light was in the long hallway. I live in the shorter hall and the area by my front door was so dark, I literally couldn’t see my hand in front of my face. When I fumbled and dropped my keys on the ground, it took a good 3 minutes of crawling around to find the keys again. Lame.

I’ll spare you photos and just tell you that produce, soy protein and dairy do not do well unrefrigerated for three days. The kitchen smells a little bit like a landfill. 😦 I blame the bananas.

Let’s hope the next place I live gets better Pepco service than my current building.

 

Do you remember life before the Internet? What about getting AOL CDs in the mail?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 7:44 pm

    I loveeed having AOL in 1996! I loved the dial up sound as well! Lame, I know 🙂

  2. January 30, 2011 8:45 am

    I remember when it was really cool to chat in AOL chat rooms. That was probably 1994 or 95.

  3. January 31, 2011 11:26 am

    I was about 7 when the internet started getting big, so I barely remember life without the internet- weird!

  4. Kristin permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:11 pm

    My 9th graders and I just had a HUGE conversation about this in English 9 the other day. They were born in 1996 so they don’t really know what life was like before the Internet, although it’s a rural school so a few of them don’t have Internet at home. They still ALWAYS use it all day at school, though (we are on the one-to-one laptop initiative with Apple, so all teachers and all students grades 6-12 each have their own Macbook full time while they’re members of the district), and they have it on their phones, etc.

    Last week was the 27th birthday of the Macintosh computer, so we watched the YouTube video where Steve Jobs debuts the computer. My kids thought it was hilarious, but also interesting that we use the computer (besides the Internet) for mostly the same things now. Photo editing, calculator, word processing, spreadsheets, etc. They talked about how they thought they would have a stronger work ethic and be more outdoorsy if there was no Internet, but they thought they would still watch a lot of TV. They also thought maybe they would have more free time, but they wouldn’t be able to access the information they regularly do now.

    Very interesting conversation, and I LOVE this video…I might show that to my kids this week as a follow-up conversation starter 🙂

Leave a Reply

